[linux] No audio for standard def
I get audio from 720p and 1080p content fine via coax spdif but music and standard def audio doesnt come through. I have XBMC running on ubuntu 10.10. I also do not get any sound out of the OS. Any suggestions on where to look first, I am new to linux.

Thanks,

David
Please post a debug log (don't forget to turn on debug logging).
bobo1on1 Wrote:Please post a debug log (don't forget to turn on debug logging).

I dont have a debug log yet but I have narrowed it down to MP3 audio from music or video. I also do not hear any menu sounds. DTS, AC3, AAC, Dolby D and others all work fine.
here are the contents of the log. It was too big to paste here so I put it at tinypaste.com

http://tinypaste.com/08ed6
Code:
Initialize - using alsa device plug: dmixer
You seem to be using the wrong alsa device.
bobo1on1 Wrote:
Code:
Initialize - using alsa device plug: dmixer
You seem to be using the wrong alsa device.

I wasnt sure what to do so I tried this...

Quote:Audio issues
S/PDIF out for both analog and digital audio
You might find yourself able to get one of both working, but switching from one to the other might not work. Ubuntu and other distributions use PulseAudio to manage ALSA devices and unfortunately it doesn't provide management for passthrough digital audio. The following solution bypasses PulseAudio and forces XBMC to directly use ALSA. There is no need to uninstall or tweak PulseAudio on Ubuntu in any way.
Open ~/.asoundrc in a text editor (create the file if it doesn't exist) and add the following:
note: make sure to use the correct card/device id and replace 'pcm "hw:0,1"' with it. You can find the id's by typing 'aplay -l' in a terminal.
pcm.dmixer {
type dmix
ipc_key 1024
slave {
pcm "hw:0,1"
period_time 0
period_size 1024
buffer_size 8192
#periods 128
#rate 44100
rate 48000
}
bindings {
0 0
1 1
}
}
Launch xbmc and go to "system->settings->system->audio hardware" and change the following:
AUDIO OUTPUT DEVICE: custom