Network Issues
Hi all, I am fairly new to this and running into problems on all avenues, so hope someone can point me in the right direction!

I have previously had XBMC running under Windows 7, but it was slow, the remote would not work correctly and there were other minor issues, so I have binned that and am trying Live - I love it for it's simplicity, it just installs and works - remote and all, but I am having some connectivity problems:

I tried for ages to get a USB wireless dongle working but have failed, so am resorting to Ethernet. I know nothing about linux, but followed a number of guides and finally gave up. I was planning on running a cable eventually anyway, so it's no biggie.

I have a Windows 7 machine which is sharing folders to three other Windows 7 machines around the house. I have set up the sources to point to these using SMB and it works great - until I reboot XBMC, then it fails immediately when opening any shared location. The workgroup is set correctly, but if I enter the workgroup field and the click done XBMC says it needs to restart - then the networking works flawlessly again. Unfortunately this needs to be done every time it boots up so is unacceptable (wife & kids need to use this).

I have tried using XBMSB, I setup ccxgui on the PC with the shares and pointed XBMC to it fine, but when opening a file it spins an hourglass for 20-30 seconds before playing the file. I have tried this with mpg and avi files, both do the same.

So I am looking for help - is there a fix to the SMB issue I am having, or is there a fix to the XBMSB issue, or is there another system I could use?

About the set-up: I am using an old laptop which I have stripped and put in a VCR case, it is an Intel P4 3.0 CPU and has 1Gb of RAM with an ATI graphics chip. the Network is using a Marvel chip, and XBMC is v10.0, clean installed several times.

Any help would be appreciated.