Apple TV 1 vs Apple TV 2.. Which would you buy?
Hello,

Long time XBMC user, first time poster Smile

I've been using XBMC on the original xbox in my bedroom for MANY years and I have finally decided it's time to upgrade. My first instinct was to build another HTPC but I've always liked the quiet, small form factor xbox (not to mention CHEAP!) and started poking around the idea of using an Apple TV.

I'd say my content is split evenly between 720 XviD and 720 x264. Pretty much zero 1080p is played in the bedroom. Would you guys suggest going with an Apple TV 1 w/ CrystalHD card or a new Apple TV 2?

Thanks for your input in advance!
One thing to consider is where you want to store your media. If you have some sort of NAS I think it's sort of a toss-up (as long as you're willing to live with no 1080p). If you don't, I would drop the ATV2 from consideration--the ATV1 can handle external storage in addition to its internal storage and would be the better choice.

I have to admit, I have become an ATV1 collector. They are so useful as little, quiet, low-power computers. I have one running Leopard that does duty as a Wuala shared-storage server, iTunes server, and "download" manager, with plans to add a USB hub for additional external storage. Another one is awaiting its Crystal HD card and will be doing living-room XBMC duty (the living room needs 1080p). I am shopping for another one for my 7-year-old to have as a "first computer"--just add a leftover keyboard, mouse, and monitor. I do have an ATV2 for the bedroom and it's great, too, but not nearly as versatile.

The ATV1 goes for about $50-60 on eBay for the 40GB model, another $40-50 for the 160GB model. You can pick up the Crystal HD card for another $50 or so, so in total the price difference between the two is quite small.