Beginner Orientation
Hi,

I am an XBMC skinning newbie trying to understand the skin views hierarchy.
Looking, for example, on the confluense video-related views. When clicking the video item on the main menu (the log-file shows that) the MyVideoNav.xml is loaded. MyVideoNav.xml's first lines is:
<views>50,51,500,550,560,501,.....</views>
and contains a large number of controls and include statements (that include, among others, the views above spread over multiple files like ViewsFileMode.xml). More than one of these views are list-controls.

How is the layout performed?
How can I determine which is the "root" view?
Which views are shown together to build a more composite view? and which are different screens one on top of the other?

For example, assuming I wanted to change the size of the first list shown (containing "Add Videos..." and "Video Add-ons") - how can identify which is the list currently being shown?

Thanks!
Go to skin folder, open up addon.xml, and make sure you have debugging="true" . This will show you currently focused control.
My skins:

Amber
Quartz

pecinko Wrote:Go to skin folder, open up addon.xml, and make sure you have debugging="true" . This will show you currently focused control.

Thanks, pecinko! Very helpful. This allows me to learn about the location of buttons, lists, edit, etc.

How can I learn about the layout of other components? For example, the "preview thumbnail" on the bottom right? Also, how can I tell what is the "container" component defining the layout of the various sub-components (e.g. the location of the list in relation to the thumbnail).
Was skinning manual of any help?

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...ing_Manual
My skins:

Amber
Quartz

pecinko Wrote:Was skinning manual of any help?

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...ing_Manual