Sidebar Seach for addons "Searching... No Results Found"
This is something that has bugged me for quite a while, even after I seem to remember (years ago) solving it.

The sidebar Search works in Video, and Music, but not for any addon I've used for years now.  I'm a dev and, as I said, remember fixing this issue previously, but now I've absolutely no idea how to.  I can't find any of the docs about this feature at all, nor any method of plugging it in to the addon/view you're currently in.

It doesn't even work in the (outdated?) sample video addon that's in the wiki - https://github.com/romanvm/plugin.video.example .  No matter which view you're in, it shows up "No results found" for any search.  I've found random bits of advice, which had
Quote:"The whole def search_new code needs to be replaced with the code here" https://pastebin.com/rBUrunsZ
But, that was seemed to be from a ropey old addon that seems to be dead anyway.  Nonetheless I still created a search, and search_new function which obviously did nothing cos they weren't plugged in anywhere. 

I tried to look through the kodi source, to try find where this connects to, I looked throught the trakt addon's code, cos I seem to remember that that search worked before (when the addon worked), but again couldn't find where/how the sidebar search may be plugged into.  Nothing pops up in the logging to give a hint as to how it's connected either, it seems to check something, but then returns with the regular empty results.  The filter option works perfectly though.

So yeah, I don't want to do anything too complicated, but I'd love to know what's going on, and, in a perfect world, where it's documented nicely Smile
i couldnt recall ever using the sideblade search with my addons and it seems all of mine actually implement search by adding it as a list item so it seems this is the preferred method rather than the sideblade