[LIVE] Strange feedback gain or... something
Question 
Hi, I've been running XBMC on an acer aspire for a few months, and yesterday I bought a new TV and connected everything up, and it just developed this strange audio problem.

Basically how it's set up is I have a pioneer reciever (no hdmi ports, just an audio one) and the TV is plugged in with a coaxial cable, and it runs on the "tv" channel of the amp.
The XBMC pc doesn't have a hdmi out, so it's connected to the tv with a dvi-hdmi connector, and there's a simple 3.5mm - RCA cable connecting it to the analog "CD" channel of the amp.
Now, this is only when the XBMC comp is on, the amp is on the CD channel and the coaxial cable is plugged in - it starts putting out some weird feedback, kinda sounds like... i don't know, a frequency generator outputting a square wave. Like, I can take out and put in the coaxial cable while the pc is running and the noise will stop and start as it makes a connection.

This stops as soon as the coaxial cable is unplugged, even though it's running on a different channel. The feedback doesn't happen when the amp is on the tv channel, and it doesn't make this noise with any other analog audio, so I'm pretty sure it's not the amp. I've tried a few different coaxial cables in case they had varying impedance, but again, no difference.

I've screwed around with a few values in the settings and alsamixer, but hasn't made a difference.

Anyone have any idea what the hell is going on?
Hi
Did a quick google and found this
http://forums.audioholics.com/forums/amp...-d711.html
not sure if its your issue, but as per the post you may have a ground loop...
try plugging one ot the devices into another power point (will depend on how your house is wired if this will work or not)
Maybe post this in the general help section, as I think its more of a setup issue rather than a linux one and you may get more replies
Cheers
Wozza
Yeah, that's pretty much the same thing that's happening to me.