Major build questions
Hi,

Im pretty new to this and want to run the system Im planning to build by someone who has done it before. I have done a fair bit of research before posting, but I think asking questions is the best way to figure this stuff out.

I plan to virtualise freenas and mythTV. I will probably buy an old intel duo with 4 gig of ram. The hypervisor will be vmware vmvisor 4.1.0.

The idea around freenas is auto backups and easy access across the network for the whole family. I have no idea if it will run on a hypervisor but I think its safe to assume it will work.

MythTV I want to run on the hypervisor as well and the source will be hdhomerun. This I think this allows flexibility and people seem to swear by them.

The front end will be Apple TV2 running XBMC. I have seen MythTV website saying this platform is not recommended and it seems people have done it but its not clear to me. Im pretty comfortable that for music and videos what I have proposed will probaly work, but Im not sure about the MythTV front end.

The idea is to minimise cost and have an appliance type solution, and convergance as much as possible.

On the subject of convergance I have also considered a pc like the acer revo 100 the Dell Zino and apple mac mini. I dont really wnat to spend that much but if its the only way to get live TV and a PVR then Im open to the idea. It also means I get rid of my DVD player. So any recommendations on these or any other pc that I should look at? I think the Revo is clever but lacks a real remote, so Im doubtful about it. The Zino uses ATi graphics so that leaves apple which I dont reaaly fancy. Maybe make it a live box?

The other plus a PC has over apple TV is that I can surf the web. Is it possible to use a wireless Keyboard and surf the web on an apple TV2? Is the XBMC browser stable?

Any advice or recommendations appreciated:-)
no one got any ideas about this?