Need help with buying a mac mini.
I plan on buying a new mac mini soon to use it for xbmc and for serving Itunes.
My movie library is all m2ts w/ 5.1 audio for DVD and Blu-ray rips.
I have been playing these movies with a popcorn hour for a few years and everything plays good. I decided to get a apple tv 2 for my other TV and put xbmc on that that plays great also.
Know I just need to know which Mac mini to buy the base with Intel HD Graphics 3000 or step up to the AMD Radeon HD 6630M.
Like I said I will only be using the mini for m2ts movie play back and Itunes server. The m2ts are 1080p w/ 5.1 audio.

Thanks Jason
jness421 Wrote:I plan on buying a new mac mini soon to use it for xbmc and for serving Itunes.
My movie library is all m2ts w/ 5.1 audio for DVD and Blu-ray rips.
I have been playing these movies with a popcorn hour for a few years and everything plays good. I decided to get a apple tv 2 for my other TV and put xbmc on that that plays great also.
Know I just need to know which Mac mini to buy the base with Intel HD Graphics 3000 or step up to the AMD Radeon HD 6630M.
Like I said I will only be using the mini for m2ts movie play back and Itunes server. The m2ts are 1080p w/ 5.1 audio.

Thanks Jason

What kind of rips do you have? If they are 1:1 rips of blu-rays I can't believe the ATV is playing them. Are the rips re-encoded with Handbrake?

The biggest problem with the base level mini is that the integrated Intel graphics are not capable of proper display of blu-ray sources at 23.976 fps. Which means if you output to your display at 1080p/24 you will have frame drops.

If you are willing to have XBMC do 60fps conversion this really should not be a problem, although you will have 24->60fps judder.

Also, while the hardware on the new Minis should be capable of doing high def audio, OS X cannot handle it, so that's out at the moment too.