[SUPPORT] Hulu Video Plugin

  Thread Rating:
  • 17 Vote(s) - 4.18 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
learningit Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,079
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 170
Location: Near Caerbannog
Post: #1711
Quote:I suppose that we will just have to agree to disagree until time tells.

The only change in the "problem" cdns is Type 2 SWFVerification. I suppose that some argument could be made that Type 2 SWFVerification is encryption in some sort of exceedingly loose sense of the term, and I'd be happy to hear any of your arguments to that effect or hear more about the testing you've seen to the contrary. My understanding is that it is a hash function transaction at post-handshake but pre-data transfer. If Type 2 SWFVerification passes, the rtmpe tunnel is open for data transfer, much like for Type 1.

In extensive testing, I've seen all Type 2 or all Type 1 per cdn. For example, non-plus or non-logged-in users who were getting some cdns to work for a while a few days ago, if the cdn did change when they logged in, it would be all Type 2 or Type 1 per cdn, not mixed Type 2 and Type 1 on the same cdn. If your testing reveals results contrary to this, please provide details.

A picture is worth a thousand words. This is from the Cosmos broadcast last night which just made it to my queue. Note the CDN selections at the top of the images. You might look foolish if we go further.

http://i.imgur.com/mvHZi8U.png
http://i.imgur.com/JHH6bpj.png
http://i.imgur.com/uTLiiES.png

I can promise you the SWF 2 is not used on these.
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-24 18:47 by learningit.)
find quote
toejam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #1712
(2014-03-24 18:43)learningit Wrote:  A picture is worth a thousand words. This is from the Cosmos broadcast last night which just made it to my queue. Note the CDN selections at the top of the images. You might look foolish if we go further.

http://i.imgur.com/mvHZi8U.png
http://i.imgur.com/JHH6bpj.png
http://i.imgur.com/uTLiiES.png

I can promise you the SWF 2 is not used on these.

darwin-edgecast has been free of Type 2 throughout this ordeal. Never once have I seen Type 2 on darwin-edgecast. I have seen Type 2 on limelight (and darwin-limelight), but I had not seen a Type 1 on limelight since around 5 days ago with extensive testing on IPs across the country.

Even if limelight is still occasionally (or even always) Type 1, what does this show? I said it seems like only one Type 2 free cdn was left (meaning darwin-edgecast), maybe there are two. Color me the fool.
find quote
learningit Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,079
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 170
Location: Near Caerbannog
Post: #1713
(2014-03-24 19:04)toejam Wrote:  darwin-edgecast has been free of Type 2 throughout this ordeal. Never once have I seen Type 2 on darwin-edgecast. I have seen Type 2 on limelight (and darwin-limelight), but I had not seen a Type 1 on limelight since around 5 days ago with extensive testing on IPs across the country.

Even if limelight is still occasionally (or even always) Type 1, what does this show? I said it seems like only one Type 2 free cdn was left (meaning darwin-edgecast), maybe there are two. Color me the fool.

This is my final reply to you. I guess what it shows is that I have a working hulu addon that works with multiple CDNs and doesn't make use of SWF 2. I guess I'm too stupid to understand or care about the other technical issues you raise.
find quote
locomot1f Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,335
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 12
Location: ohio
Post: #1714
I think what they are saying, @toejam, is that the Type 2
Code:
ERROR: HandleCtrl: SWFVerification Type 2 request not supported, attempting to use SWFVerification Type 1! Patches welcome...
error always pops up. Hulu (Free), or Hulu Plus.

the actual problem on the Hulu Plus side (720p) is happening somewhere around here:
Code:
RTMP_ClientPacket, received: invoke 181 bytes
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: (object begin)
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:            no-name, STRING:    _error>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:            no-name, NUMBER:    1.00>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: NULL
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:            no-name, OBJECT>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: (object begin)
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:              level, STRING:    error>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:               code, STRING:    NetConnection.Connect.Rejected>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:        description, STRING:    Connection failed.>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:        description, STRING:    [ Client.SWFVerificiation.Rejected ] : status code 439>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: (object end)

although, i could be wrong.

Linux Mint 18 LTS 64-bit - Kodi 17 Beta6
Odroid-C2 - Libreelec v7.90.009
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-24 19:49 by locomot1f.)
find quote
zaide_chris Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1715
(2014-03-24 18:43)learningit Wrote:  A picture is worth a thousand words. This is from the Cosmos broadcast last night which just made it to my queue. Note the CDN selections at the top of the images. You might look foolish if we go further.

http://i.imgur.com/mvHZi8U.png
http://i.imgur.com/JHH6bpj.png
http://i.imgur.com/uTLiiES.png

I can promise you the SWF 2 is not used on these.

If this is till working.
Could you share a zip of your HULU plugin?

Even if those CDNs are still type one,

My smil is only returning the following:
400_h264 on akamai or darwin-level3
650_h264 on akamai or darwin-level3
1000_h264 on akamai or darwin-level3
Any all those have SWFVerification Type 2.
find quote
Romey-Rome Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1716
(2014-03-24 20:23)zaide_chris Wrote:  
(2014-03-24 18:43)learningit Wrote:  A picture is worth a thousand words. This is from the Cosmos broadcast last night which just made it to my queue. Note the CDN selections at the top of the images. You might look foolish if we go further.

http://i.imgur.com/mvHZi8U.png
http://i.imgur.com/JHH6bpj.png
http://i.imgur.com/uTLiiES.png

I can promise you the SWF 2 is not used on these.

If this is till working.
Could you share a zip of your HULU plugin?

Even if those CDNs are still type one,

My smil is only returning the following:
400_h264 on akamai or darwin-level3
650_h264 on akamai or darwin-level3
1000_h264 on akamai or darwin-level3
Any all those have SWFVerification Type 2.

Well he does have his own fork - http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=187959 - though not functional as the pics above.
find quote
learningit Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,079
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 170
Location: Near Caerbannog
Post: #1717
When all the dust settles down and there's a way to release an addon which doesn't violate XBMC community rules, I will share. At this point hulu keeps changing things that will just frustrate everyone.
My conversations above are an attempt to dissuade people from using dubious methods which are not acceptable to the XBMC community and really should not even be discussed in these forums. I was also trying to clear up a bit of incorrect information provided.
To be clear, I have only used the original Bluecop addon, the current version of XBMC, standard tools shipped with Windows and some working knowledge to get mine working. No sniffers, crackers, disassemblers, etc. I really wish people will respect my choice in this matter and I believe based upon the original comments on page 1 of this thread, that this is the spirit in which Bluecop provided this addon as well.
find quote
Romey-Rome Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1718
(2014-03-24 21:22)learningit Wrote:  No sniffers, crackers, disassemblers, etc.

Isn't that kind of what librtmp does, which is a plugin dependency?
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-24 21:27 by Romey-Rome.)
find quote
tricky2lu Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1719
(2014-03-24 21:22)learningit Wrote:  When all the dust settles down and there's a way to release an addon which doesn't violate XBMC community rules, I will share. At this point hulu keeps changing things that will just frustrate everyone.
My conversations above are an attempt to dissuade people from using dubious methods which are not acceptable to the XBMC community and really should not even be discussed in these forums. I was also trying to clear up a bit of incorrect information provided.
To be clear, I have only used the original Bluecop addon, the current version of XBMC, standard tools shipped with Windows and some working knowledge to get mine working. No sniffers, crackers, disassemblers, etc. I really wish people will respect my choice in this matter and I believe based upon the original comments on page 1 of this thread, that this is the spirit in which Bluecop provided this addon as well.

Correct !
find quote
Romey-Rome Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1720
Nevermind
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-24 21:38 by Romey-Rome.)
find quote
toejam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #1721
(2014-03-24 19:12)learningit Wrote:  This is my final reply to you. I guess what it shows is that I have a working hulu addon that works with multiple CDNs and doesn't make use of SWF 2. I guess I'm too stupid to understand or care about the other technical issues you raise.
Ok, fair enough. I can get on board with all of the above and leave it right there.
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-25 00:30 by toejam.)
find quote
toejam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #1722
(2014-03-24 19:46)locomot1f Wrote:  I think what they are saying, @toejam, is that the Type 2
Code:
ERROR: HandleCtrl: SWFVerification Type 2 request not supported, attempting to use SWFVerification Type 1! Patches welcome...
error always pops up. Hulu (Free), or Hulu Plus.

the actual problem on the Hulu Plus side (720p) is happening somewhere around here:
Code:
RTMP_ClientPacket, received: invoke 181 bytes
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: (object begin)
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:            no-name, STRING:    _error>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:            no-name, NUMBER:    1.00>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: NULL
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:            no-name, OBJECT>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: (object begin)
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:              level, STRING:    error>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:               code, STRING:    NetConnection.Connect.Rejected>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:        description, STRING:    Connection failed.>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: Property: <Name:        description, STRING:    [ Client.SWFVerificiation.Rejected ] : status code 439>
13:36:20 T:140028072158976    INFO: (object end)

although, i could be wrong.

SWF verify could be failing in some other way as well.
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-25 03:50 by toejam.)
find quote
mattmartinolc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1723
Does this mean that all the CDN's now use SWFVerification Type 2? Sorry for my newbishness but I am wondering why Hulu is also not working with Plex Media Server anymore as well as XBMC .. I thought I could temporarily switch over to rasplex but no go..
find quote
learningit Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,079
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 170
Location: Near Caerbannog
Post: #1724
Through a byzantine series of exchanges today, I got the answer to whether or not I'm wasting my time on this. Guess you need to be stupid to get the right answer.
I can confirm that at this time all CDNs use type 2 verification for anything other than some preview clips.
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-25 02:08 by learningit.)
find quote
learningit Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,079
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 170
Location: Near Caerbannog
Post: #1725
I would suggest that people look into the chrome launcher or scraper methods proposed in an earlier post.
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-25 02:06 by learningit.)
find quote
Post Reply