What should I be seeing when I click into a media navigation category?
Hi All,

I am testing out XBMC. I had been using Boxee for Windows, and now I have a newly-built hackintosh and I'd like to see if XBMC is for me. So far I like how customizable it appears to be.

One oddness, however, is when I am in the main nav, and I click into a category (say, TV), I get a modal that essentially is asking me to select a directory. In the Boxee world, clicking on TV brought me to a screen with large thumbnails representing TV series, which is the behavior I'd like.

Is there a way to have this work for me? I'm new at XBMC so it's possible, hopefully, that I just haven't stumbled across the method to accomplish this.

Thanks!
Adding videos to the library (wiki)
The TV selection shouldn't even be visible if there's no TV shows in the library.
I added a source via the method Ned linked (I'm pretty sure I had already done this, as the same source showed up with a (2) after it. And I classified the directory's contents as "TV". I did this under the Videos menu option, which is a little confusing if I want it to show up under TV shows. What's the point of videos, movies, and tv shows? Aren't movies and tv shows just videos? Or is "videos" meant for things like home-shot videos?

Anyway, I have the source linked, classified as TV, and still when I select TV shows, I get that file explorer menu. I can navigate to the directory with my TV shows, but that doesn't seem to be the right behavior.
let me rephrase. I have added a source (via the videos menu...) for TV shows. I want those TV series to show up, not a file explorer menu, when I select TV shows. What am I doing wrong?
Not setting a scraper to get the info.
(2012-09-18, 16:56)schmoppa Wrote: What's the point of videos, movies, and tv shows? Aren't movies and tv shows just videos? Or is "videos" meant for things like home-shot videos?