Don't render GUI if screensaver is active
Hi all

Been looking into anything which will reduce CPU usage on a Raspberry Pi and it occurred to me that it would be good to simply not render the GUI if the "Black" screensaver is active. This will allow the Pi to do "other stuff" in the background, plus I'm running Freeswitch : what I'd ultimately like to do is send a command via JSON from Freeswitch to XBMC when a call is answered to immediately turn on the screensaver. At that point XBMC should be taking up 0% CPU and Freeswitch can have all the resources it needs.

Big fat caveat : I'm not a programmer. I know a bit of c# and that's about my lot. So what I tried was in application.cpp...

// do not render if we are stopped
if (m_bStop)
return;

// do not render if screensaver is active and screensaver is black
// turn on for Raspberry Pi and similar
if (m_bScreenSave && m_screenSaver && m_screenSaver->ID() = "screensaver.xbmc.builtin.black")
return;

Obviously I'm guessing at the syntax, and obviously it's wrong. Can someone point me in the right direction, please ?

Thanks

Pete
Dirty rendering should already do what you want. (see the wiki)
AppleTV4/iPhone/iPod/iPad: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for Kodi: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
Thanks for the response. Dirty rendering does definitely go part of the way but I want to be able to accomplish something a little more. Something along the lines of "If Black screensaver is active don't even bother looking for dirty regions, just skip the entire render cycle altogether".