Weird sound issue
I'm new to xbmc. So far I like everything about it and look forward to live tv and pvr functions vs wmc which I use now.

My system is

Mits. DLP tv

Arock extreme 870 MOB

AMD x2 tri core rigor cpu

Radeon 6570 1 gig memory

2 western digital H.D

4 gigs ram

Windows 7 64

HD Homerun

Optical cable from my HTPC to my denon ( does not have hdmi)

I have my OTA antenna split one side into my mits. the other into the HD Homerun.I Everything works great in wmc but I hate the interface my reason to use xbmc along with the streaming through my network.

Everything set up fine. I have my audio in settings set to hdmi and 2 speakers since I usually watch movies using the tv speakers unless the wife is out or its turn it down, does it have to be so loud.

I tested the install by watching one of my mkv movies. I hear the sound just fine.. I went into audio the hdmi is checked the audio output is where I'm having issues.

when I hit hot the stop button on the movie and then closed out xbmc. I lost all sound the htpc wouldn't even play a mp3 though windows. I tried to switch the tv back to the straight antenna and no sound there. it's like the speakers to the tv were dead. I couldn't figure it. After going back and forth from the pc to tv I actually lost the tv picture also.. I turned off the tv and the power light started to blink for 30 sec's or so then went off. I turned it back on heard sound and after 30 sec's or so got my picture back thank god.

I went back into xmbc back to the movie and tried it again I looked at the audio it said hdmi vol and boost was blacked out, oh I did increase the boost the first time I went it because the sound on my mkv's are low.

There is another setting in the sound menu .. I forget what it say but you can choose between dts and dolby I've tried all settings and they all make the sound stop on the pc outside xmbc except for 4/4 ac3 5.1 I believe.