Noob needs some help
Hi All,
I'm a Ubuntu and XBMC noob and am running into a problem. I just built an XBMC HTPC and downloaded and installed Frodo. I have the operating system on an SSD and have a 150GB hard drive as a media tank that I'm using while setting up and configuring the system. I also have 3TB storage in my main home network computer that I want to eventually add as the system storage for all media. I have had no real issues yet configuring this system using the local 150GB drive as the media source. XBMC locates all the movie and music files I have loaded on the locan 150GB drive as my system test, and gets all the data (album covers, fanart, etc) from the appropriate internet sources.

Today I experimented by adding my network 3TB drive as a video and music source. XBMC sees all the media and all the movies and albums show up, but when I try to update the data it says it is not connected and cannot update. However, if I just delete the network drive as a source it updates just fine (for the local drive, which is now configured as the only media source). So, the help I need is how do I get XBMC to continue to recognize the internet when I add/select the network drive as a source. (BTW, when I go to the add source screen, the icon for the network is red, not blue. What is the significance of that?). Why is adding the network drive disabling the ability to see the internet?

Thanks in advance for any help y'all are able to give.

David
Welcome to the XBMC forums.

(2013-05-08, 20:53)DavidK Wrote: (BTW, when I go to the add source screen, the icon for the network is red, not blue. What is the significance of that?). Why is adding the network drive disabling the ability to see the internet?

What icon are you referring to (i.e., where are you seeing this)?