Linux - VAAPI: Nuc, Chromebox, HSW, IVB, Baytrail with Ubuntu 14.04

  Thread Rating:
  • 15 Vote(s) - 4.8 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
redstorm Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #1561
(2015-04-15 07:45)fritsch Wrote:  I don't use 14.2 anymore at all. It would be good, if you could consider a stable backend without teething problems, that way we have to hunt much less false positives.


Isn't 14.2 helix the stable release. or are you referring to TVheadend as the Live tv backend?
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,572
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 201
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #1562
Yes. There is no stable version of tvheadend. Before we removed it from OE, we asked the tvh devs which version to ship and they could not name one as it changes daily for good or bad, nobody knows.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
gurabli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #1563
Switch to vdr, it is rock solid, fast, low on resources, never used anything so good as VDR for tv. I use it for a long time now, works without any problems (small ones, but nothing serious), and not to mention the great plugins like live, vnsi-server, epgfixer streamdev, etc.

HTPC: ASRock ION 330, 2x1GB RAM, 32GB 1"8 SDD, itx case, DVBSky S960 USB DVB-S2, picoPSU 120W
Openelec 5.0.2 DualAudio Build
find quote
gurabli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #1564
@fritsch do you have any news regarding the new Braswell SoC boards? I cant seam to locate anything, also contacted mb manufacturers, but no new info at all. Asrock, and perhaps Asus, is the one I hope will make great Htpc boards, let's hope so.

HTPC: ASRock ION 330, 2x1GB RAM, 32GB 1"8 SDD, itx case, DVBSky S960 USB DVB-S2, picoPSU 120W
Openelec 5.0.2 DualAudio Build
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,572
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 201
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #1565
Nope - nothing. Will come to market in May - so we will see.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
gurabli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #1566
Ok, we're almost there. I hope Asrock will make a board with optical out, HDMI cec support, perhaps cir for USB remote power on. If Brashwell will do the job as we are hoping it will, that would finally be the best board. Strange that manufacturers doesn't consider this, after all, for optical out they need a cheap Realtek audio chip, and the CIR is also a penny, everything else is built into the SoC. It would be also an ideal htpc/NAS combo, just add a pcie sata card, and you have 2-10 SATA ports, and the SoC would be powerful enough to do basic home server functions (even Plex).

HTPC: ASRock ION 330, 2x1GB RAM, 32GB 1"8 SDD, itx case, DVBSky S960 USB DVB-S2, picoPSU 120W
Openelec 5.0.2 DualAudio Build
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 08:10 by gurabli.)
find quote
redstorm Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #1567
(Yesterday 06:51)gurabli Wrote:  Switch to vdr, it is rock solid, fast, low on resources, never used anything so good as VDR for tv. I use it for a long time now, works without any problems (small ones, but nothing serious), and not to mention the great plugins like live, vnsi-server, epgfixer streamdev, etc.

Unfortunately VDR doesn't support the opentv epg for the satellite provider in my area of the world, even though it does support opentv for other regions like skyuk. So you only end up with now and next data in the epg. where as Theadend does and you get a full epg for the HD channels.

The plugin epgfixer may be able to work around the issue but would require time and effort.

I am on the unstable ppa for tvh but i don't have any issues with it.

If you were to ship a stable version of tvh it would be 3.4.
find quote
gurabli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #1568
@redstorm although it is off topic here, but you should take a look at vdr plugin extended epg, it will grab epg data for you. If your provider is not supported atm you can contact the developer, he is very helpful. Remember, vdr with plugins can do (almost) anything, just need to know how to configure things.

HTPC: ASRock ION 330, 2x1GB RAM, 32GB 1"8 SDD, itx case, DVBSky S960 USB DVB-S2, picoPSU 120W
Openelec 5.0.2 DualAudio Build
find quote
decaturguy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 1
Location: Sweden
Post: #1569
@redstorm: Try first vdr with eepg plugin see if it support opentv for your region. If it doesn't as gurabli mentioned contact the developer.
This systems are practically same the codes are already there, i was really amazed when they added my provider how simple it was. It was just a matter of entering a pid number in the right place inside eepg.c file.
find quote
redstorm Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #1570
@decaturguy

As i said to Gurabli in a pm the functionally of the two is basically the same, however tvh supports a full epg for my region, where it VDR does not , i took a look at eepg, and my experience with opentv epg without the correct huffman dictionary and genre map you wont be able to decode the data.

anyway the issue was nothing to do with Tvheadend and was caused by an incorrect setting on the AVR and i have no desire to change something that works perfectly fine for me to something that will have less functionality (re epg for my region).

This is off topic, nothing to see here move along.
(This post was last modified: Today 01:34 by redstorm.)
find quote
noggin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,683
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 42
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #1571
(Yesterday 18:07)decaturguy Wrote:  @redstorm: Try first vdr with eepg plugin see if it support opentv for your region. If it doesn't as gurabli mentioned contact the developer.
This systems are practically same the codes are already there, i was really amazed when they added my provider how simple it was. It was just a matter of entering a pid number in the right place inside eepg.c file.

For some reason, even though it has been around for about 5 years or so, the UK Freeview HD (HD terrestrial in the UK) platform doesn't work properly in VDR with eepg. The Huffman codes that are used to compress the UK HD channels EPG (an initiative that avoided encrypting the HD services) are 'out there' (and I believe not entirely dissimilar to the Freesat Huffman codes) - however I think the way they are flagged isn't quite the same. TV Headend has excellent support for Freeview HD.

As an observer, TV Headend seems to have better support for UK and possibly Nordic stuff, whilst VDR appears to work brilliantly for Germany, and possibly also France?
find quote
noggin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,683
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 42
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #1572
(Yesterday 06:45)fritsch Wrote:  Yes. There is no stable version of tvheadend. Before we removed it from OE, we asked the tvh devs which version to ship and they could not name one as it changes daily for good or bad, nobody knows.

It's a real pity - as for the UK, TV Headend delivers far better functionality than VDR. (VDR appears not to support UK HD channels EPG on DVB-T/T2 even with eepg), but I can see why OE have removed it as there isn't a formal release system, and some of the changes have been pretty radical.
(This post was last modified: Today 02:22 by noggin.)
find quote
Post Reply