Mac Mini vs Raspberry Pi
Hi Team,

I am currently running xbmc frodo on my mac mini mid 2010 connected to my qnap 469l NAS. It works fine but it gets rather hot in my closet. I was thinking about getting my first raspberry pi and running xbmc through it for the same purpose.

Does anyone have any recommendations on which one to go with. I'm not an expert with computer specs so any help would be appreciated.

Mac Mini = 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo/2 GB DDR3 SDRAM (PC3-8500)/320 GB HD/SuperDrive/GeForce 320M/AirPort & Bluetooth Built-in ( I have upgraded to 8GB ram)

RPI = Raspberry Pi 512MB Model B

It would be nice to free up my mac mini for other ventures but I wont do so if its at the cost of quality.

Thanks
What is your temp measurements?

I would stick to the Mac Mini as most mac mini's run hot
The pi has less a quality problem and more a speed one. Streaming is flawless when running. However, menu navigation etc. is just too slow for some people. Also it doesn't have the processor power to handle formats that are not hardware supported through software decoding.
Having said that, if you have an Ethernet connection to your NAS and HDMI to your TV, then you will not find a cheaper or lower powered(read heat generating) solutionSmile
Stick with the Mac mini and get yourself a fan. You'll be glad you did.
thanks guys.
Just a short note on the RPi: I stream 1080p material over GigE on the RPi (XBMC via Openelec) and pressing right once (30 seconds step) takes about 20 seconds to resume the movie. When playing local content from the USB disk it's a bit faster, about 10 to 15 seconds.
(2013-07-11, 14:04)nilsbraden Wrote: Just a short note on the RPi: I stream 1080p material over GigE on the RPi (XBMC via Openelec) and pressing right once (30 seconds step) takes about 20 seconds to resume the movie. When playing local content from the USB disk it's a bit faster, about 10 to 15 seconds.

What distribution are you using?
I'd suggest you try latest rbej build.