Win Move xbmc from dev/test to prod?
I'm totally new to xbmc (Windows 7) and would like some (possibly obvious) assistance with moving xbmc files from one PC to another (nearly identical) machine. Note that I'm >not< talking about moving media files, e.g. movie, music, tv videos, etc. Only xmbc's configuration, databases, scraped files, metadata, images, etc. need to be moved.

Background:
I've been evaluating xbmc on my dev/test laptop and have spent the last 3 days allowing it to scan/scrape/update my collection. This is a totally new installation (of the current 12.x version) of xbmc on Windows 7. I have a production htpc in the living room that is currently running Media Portal and is used by other people. I do not test or introduce changes to that machine - it is the "production" machine - apart from major, tested updates such as this.

My standard workflow is to do development and testing on one machine, then when it is ready to go live, I copy all necessary files across to the production machine (after performing a backup). If there are any problems, I roll back the change and address the problem on the dev/test machine. Downtime on the production machine (the family htpc) is therefore minimised.

All my media files (movie, tv, music files) are on a Windows 7 'server' machine on the same home network and subnet, accessible to all machines in the house. I have close to 35,000 tv shows and 4- or 5,000 movies. And since I am in a country where downloads are capped per month, I cannot and will not perform a total re-scrape of xbmc (or media portal) unless absolutely necessary (It amounts to several gigabytes of data and takes several days due to the size of my collection). So that means that I cannot install xbmc on the htpc from scratch and then allow it to download all the wallpapers, fanart, metadata, dvd covers, etc. etc. all over again. This has already been done completely on the test environment (the laptop).