can I Install OpenELEC on Old Dell XPS 710
Hi everyone

I am wondering if it would be possible to install OpenELEC onto an old Dell xps 710 as I have an old one lying around that is unable to boot to windows as the hard drive is missing I have another hard drive and was wondering if I could install the OpenELEC and solely use the PC for XBMC?

any help would be much appreciated
Try it !!! What have you get to lose ?
Thats was the plan but I'm unsure of what version to install etc and best way to go about it.
any ideas tips etc?
Well, I have no experience of OE, so if it were me, I'd get the live CD of XBMCbuntu, boot off that and see how XBMC performs. If you think its ok, then you can either stick with that and install it to HDD or download OE and install that. I believe its a lighter distro than 'buntu so might show a performance increase. The OE x86_64 generic build should be ok. For 'buntu you should download the 12.2 version for your graphics card. IE if your graphics card is Intel or Nvidia you should download that version.
If in doubt try the openelec generic build (it has more drivers than other builds). Download from the openelec site, follow the instructions to write to a usb install stick, then boot from that stick to install to a hard drive or another usb stick. The install is very straightforward - just follow the instructions on the openelec site.
try the generic version of openelec as it says it is a catch-all version meaning they throw all the drivers and stuff in there to support as many different machines as possible

i can recommend a cheap card like a Nvidia Geforce 210 works well i have installed several of these in old Dell's and HP's and turned them into cheap HTPC's running Openelec