File Stacking question...
ok, so i'm new to xbmc, but not new to xbmp. when i play a multi-file divx movie with ac3 sound, there is a very noticable pause (around 2-3 secs) between files while xbmc is loading the next file. is there anyway to either minimize this or get rid of it all together?

i'm no programmer, but it seems like some extra buffering would do the trick. so have a "play buffer" and have this buffer filled as needed and when the current file gets near the end, the buffer starts to get filled with the next file so that there is no noticable "pause" to the person watching the video screen.

in xbmp, i couldn't eliminate it, but by minimizing the cache, i could get it down to like 1/2 second. i couldn't find a cache setting in any xml file.

can someone please help and give me some guidence?

-beefcake
this is asked b4, so next time please search the forums

anyway. there's no way to get rid of the 2-3 secs pause
this would require pre-caching/opening/starting the 2nd file
before the 1st file has ended. this is impossible with current architecture. but maybe something we can look at in v2.0

oh and when you're not a programmer, then please dont try to tell me how this should be programmed, or thats its pretty easy 2 do/fix etc. you really have no idea how complicated simple things sometimes are

frodo
XBMC Project Founder (Retired), now head programmer of MediaPortal
(beefcake @ mar. 01 2004,20:47 Wrote:i couldn't find a cache setting in any xml file.
this is under settings in the gui of xbmc (latest xbmc as very resently implemented), so not in any xml file
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
ok, so no need for the hostility.