Release - Aeon Nox 5

  Thread Rating:
  • 29 Vote(s) - 4.24 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
dkplayaclub Offline
Fan
Posts: 615
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #2866
(2015-03-25 00:45)choekstr Wrote:  
(2015-03-25 00:36)Warner306 Wrote:  
(2015-03-24 15:12)dkplayaclub Wrote:  How do I enable different view types in various sections of XBMC? Currently, I only have list and icon available in all my addons. I would like a little more variety.

You can't just enable new views; they would have to be coded in, and in some cases resized to fit add-ons if they are designed to fit video posters.
There should be a lot more views for the various sections. Something like 8 different views with the default Aeon Nox 5 skin. With mikesilvo's Aeon Nox 5 with extra views there are more like 15 or so views all by default and not derived from an add-on. You just cycle through those in the left hand vertical menu.

I should be more clear. I don't want any NEW views. I would just like to be able to use some of the views that are already in Aeon Nox in other sections. I believe older versions of Aeon Nox had a section in the settings to enable/disable view types (been so long I'm not sure. Could have been an XBMC option), but I don't see that anywhere in the current build. I know they are probably limited to save memory, as I remember being told to disable any views you weren't currently using at one point. I was thinking there's probably an .xml file I could edit or maybe a "hidden" option that could accomplish this.
(This post was last modified: 2015-03-25 01:18 by dkplayaclub.)
find quote
Warner306 Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 831
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 25
Location: Canada
Post: #2867
(2015-03-25 01:17)dkplayaclub Wrote:  
(2015-03-25 00:45)choekstr Wrote:  
(2015-03-25 00:36)Warner306 Wrote:  You can't just enable new views; they would have to be coded in, and in some cases resized to fit add-ons if they are designed to fit video posters.
There should be a lot more views for the various sections. Something like 8 different views with the default Aeon Nox 5 skin. With mikesilvo's Aeon Nox 5 with extra views there are more like 15 or so views all by default and not derived from an add-on. You just cycle through those in the left hand vertical menu.

I should be more clear. I don't want any NEW views. I would just like to be able to use some of the views that are already in Aeon Nox in other sections. I believe older versions of Aeon Nox had a section in the settings to enable/disable view types (been so long I'm not sure. Could have been an XBMC option), but I don't see that anywhere in the current build. I know they are probably limited to save memory, as I remember being told to disable any views you weren't currently using at one point. I was thinking there's probably an .xml file I could edit or maybe a "hidden" option that could accomplish this.

Like I said, you can't just enable an existing view for other media. It has to be coded to fit the new content. Addons are square posters. TV shows and movies use rectangular posters. Also, the labels for add-on titles are different than the labels for other media. This is a lot of work in xml coding. You can't just add a button.

For example, if an image layout is designed to fit a container by scaling every image to 4 x 1, you can't put a bunch of images that are 2 x 2 in the same space. They will be stretched and distorted.

Mods like Mike Silvos and others add new views for those who want them. I can't see BigNoid adding a bunch of views for add-ons or emulators a year into the skin's life. These would be considered new views even if they share the same view name.
(This post was last modified: 2015-03-25 21:34 by Warner306.)
find quote
dkplayaclub Offline
Fan
Posts: 615
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #2868
I'm sorry, but what you are saying makes literally no sense to me. If the artowrk doesn't fit I could always resize or replace the artwork. If the view mode is already a part of the skin, it should be able to be loaded anywhere within XBMC. If the artwork it was looking for didn't fit, it would just look funny.
Also, some addons have auto-view settings and when these are set up, the appropriate menus show up in the correct view type, even though it is not selectabe through the side menu.
find quote
Warner306 Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 831
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 25
Location: Canada
Post: #2869
(2015-03-25 22:00)dkplayaclub Wrote:  I'm sorry, but what you are saying makes literally no sense to me. If the artowrk doesn't fit I could always resize or replace the artwork. If the view mode is already a part of the skin, it should be able to be loaded anywhere within XBMC. If the artwork it was looking for didn't fit, it would just look funny.
Also, some addons have auto-view settings and when these are set up, the appropriate menus show up in the correct view type, even though it is not selectabe through the side menu.

I mod skin files myself. I know what I'm talking about. Check the mods & themes section. I have created several "new" views on my own. You are asking someone to do a bunch of work is all I'm saying.
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 02:07 by Warner306.)
find quote
Deihmos Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #2870
This theme is great. This theme has brought me back to using kodi once again after leaving nearly 2 years ago.

Can a remote button be mapped to view video info? I see the info shows up when I navigate to the i
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,568
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 11
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #2871
(Yesterday 04:26)Deihmos Wrote:  Can a remote button be mapped to view video info? I see the info shows up when I navigate to the i
Keymap (wiki)

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Helix 14.0/Aeon Nox 5.5/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
find quote
Deihmos Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #2872
(Yesterday 14:23)wgstarks Wrote:  
(Yesterday 04:26)Deihmos Wrote:  Can a remote button be mapped to view video info? I see the info shows up when I navigate to the i
Keymap (wiki)
I have a remote button for (i) that brings up the synopsis of what is playing in other themes but this one does not. The synopsis is in a different location to other themes. Anyway not a big deal.
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 18:57 by Deihmos.)
find quote
Post Reply