isp selection
Hi all xbmc users. Please forgive me for if i have posted this in the wrong area. I am a complete novice to xbmc, but what i know is getting me by ok so far trying to learn and understand new things all the time. At home i use orange/EE broadband, receiving average speeds of 18mbps, not bad considering i live on the east coast and do not have any fibre speeds available to me. Downloading movies etc is ok, reasonably quick, i can live with it. However, when i want to watch live tv, mainly sports, i suffer from really bad lag, constantly buffering. Is this because my internet speed isn't quick enough or could it be because my isp are strangling my speeds, i've heard they do this when streaming video and using p2p. which ever may be the cause can i ask people how to improve the playing of live tv, i.e which is the best isp for using xbmc, better config on xbmc settings, or maybe better pc setting.
By the way i run xbmc on my windows 8 laptop, aspire E1-571, intel core i5-3230M, 2.6GHz with turbo boost to 3.2GHz, 4gb DDR3 memory, intel HD graphics 4000, up to 1760MB dynamic video memory.
hope i've explained myself well enough and once again apologise if i've posted in wrong section.
thank you,
elparrasito.
That download speed and PC spec should easily be able to stream HD content. You can use speedtest.net to check your real throughput, but I'd be surprised if it was way off what you'd expect.

ISP throttling, perhaps, or a config issue that prevents XBMC from rendering the stream fast enough? What if you watch the same stream in a browser (e.g. iPlayer HD - I assume you're in the UK by the Orange/EE reference)? Does it happen on all streams, e.g. YouTube? It may be your source, especially if it's ... erm... slightly less than pukka.