New recordings won't play until older ones are played

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Dilligaf Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 862
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 38
Post: #46
Does Gotham have the same problem? I've been unable to duplicate on my Pi running Gotham.

If I have been of help, please add to my reputation as a way of saying thanks, it's free.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-22 06:24 by Dilligaf.)
find quote
advocate99 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 274
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 12
Post: #47
I haven't tried Gotham...
find quote
advocate99 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 274
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 12
Post: #48
How do you get Gotham on the Pi?
find quote
Dilligaf Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 862
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 38
Post: #49
(2014-04-22 06:54)advocate99 Wrote:  How do you get Gotham on the Pi?

Depends on what you're running the PI on, Raspbmc has it as a nightly in its settings app or xbmc forum http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=176043 , OE has several builds available in the xbmc forum http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=192380

If I have been of help, please add to my reputation as a way of saying thanks, it's free.
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 2,280
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 60
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #50
Sorry I am a little late in answering your question: I have only been running gotham when I have tried to reproduce this problem.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
advocate99 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 274
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 12
Post: #51
No problem. If you did the file rename trick on Gotham and you didn't experience the issue, that suggests that this may be a Frodo bug. Scarecrow and I seem to have found a work-around by modifying ServerWMC so that it does not supply SMB links to completed recordings during a Recording List update. By doing so, XBMC queries ServerWMC for the SMB link each time the user hits play, and the bug does not appear to occur. Yay! Smile
find quote
advocate99 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 274
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 12
Post: #52
Hi. I'm reopening this thread because I've had some time to investigate a little more and this problem has not been resolved.

I've been able to duplicate this same problem using Kodi 14.2 and the latest ServerWMC (1199). I've duplicated it both using a client machine running windows and a client machine running Linux (OpenELEC).

Basically, if you set-up Kodi with PVR WMC set to access a Windows Media Center share via a network, and you leave it running, any new recordings that show up in the Recordings List will not play until you do one of the following:

1. Update the library
2. Play an older recording that existed before you booted.
3. Reboot.
4. Access the Video/Files area.

You can easily duplicate this problem doing what I suggested in the earlier posts: Start Kodi on a remote machine. Go into your recorded tv folder on your WMC machine, change the filename of an existing recording (by adding a letter to the beginning). On the Kodi remote machine, delete an existing recording. The new show will show up. Try to play it and it will not play. Then play an older recording and it will play. Then go back to the new recording and it will also play.

Is there any chance that I can get you to investigate this? I believe that you were able to duplicate this problem previously.

I welcome comments and suggestions for the XBMC Set-up Guide that I wrote.
You can read it here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=193310
(This post was last modified: 2015-08-02 03:12 by advocate99.)
find quote
spinnaker Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #53
It has been extremely rare that I have tried to play recordings directly. I use MCE Buddy and just let it strip commercials and move it to an appropiate folder.
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 2,280
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 60
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #54
Yes, I will try your steps again and see if I can duplicate it.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
Post Reply