iDevice recognition and integration support - Playback from a docked iPod or iPhone?
Lightbulb 
i was wondering if there could be some sort of itunes program integrated in xbmc where i can connect my ipod and transfer songs etc... which could somehow possibly communicate with the itunes on my computer. meaning i could update my music without the need of my computer.
there is alot of talk about this, due to the fact it would be a huge feature. the problem is the devs would have to write a usb interface for xbmc, im not a programmer but to my understanding this is a real lot of work.

there are quite a few threads knocking around on the subject, look out for ones talking about supporting usb external hard-drives and such (basically what an ipod is) - you'll find alot of info there.

you could more than likley use your ipod with your xbox using xbox-linux as linux already has its usb interface intergrated, but you'd have to look into it.

shane

I have been reading around and have realized that the ipod will not mount on xbmc, but being stubborn, i tried anyway. the first time, a message came up saying 'could not mount...' , but then i restarted my xbox and tried again, and guess what? it mounted the ipod! i cannot see any files or folders, but if i go to my files in xbmc, there is a 'Memory Unit 1 (Fat32)' option, being my ipod. is there a possibility that xbmc now has ipod support and i am just really far behind?

thanks - brad
If the ipod mounts, it's being read as a normal USB mass storage device. This will only work for a few ipods (has to be less than 4GB)

And no, there is no iPod support, and nor will there be.

With the filemanager you may be able to browse to your music and play it, however.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.