Wifi not working on Pi B+ and RaspBMC
Gday everyone,

I apologise in advance if this has been discussed before, but I have spent the past 6 days scouring the web and the forums for a solution to my issue but havent found anything to help. I have just bought a WiFi USB dongle, it recognises my SSID so i know it works, but after that nothing, no IP address in Settings>System Info>Summary and no connectivity at all.

Before I continue I will let you all know...I have no coding experience, XBMC is running on my Pi B+, I do not have any Linux systems running in my house to go in and edit lines etc.

I am running XBMC 13.2 GIT:2014901-867305b (compiled Oct 31 2014)

I have tried the Systems>settings>Get Add-ons>XBMC.org Add-ons>Program Add-ons>Network-Manager, but it says it is it is incompatible and requires Network-Manager 0.9.

So if thats what I need where do I get that from and what needs to be done with it?

If not is there anyone out there that can help me because according to the setup tutorials on the net I have done everything and still no connection.

Cheers in advance for anyone's assistance.

AussiePi Big Grin
It would help if you stated WHICH WiFi dongle you bought. They are not alike and some require you to install special drivers on the Pi.
As far as I have seen the recommended WiFi unit is made by EDIMAX and should be plug-and-play.
Its type number is EW-7811UN. I had no issues with it at all, it just worked.

There is one other issue too:
The Pi is not capable of supplying a lot of current to attached USB devices so they may not operate properly because of this.
It is recommended that you attach a separately powered USB hub to the Pi and then attach whatever USB devices you want to use to the hub instead of to the Pi directly. That would also help.

As will using a good sized power supply designed for charging tablets or directly for the Pi. Numerous strange problems have been tracked down to marginal power supplies....
Bo Berglund
Sweden