More XML Commenting
This is not really a feature suggestion, more of a supplement to the documentation, but I think it would be good if we could implement some more commenting in all, or at least the most modified, xml files. I'm a coder, and have done a lot of configuration of XBMC, so I have no problem understanding the xml's, but I think a lot of newbs or less technically minded people would find some more commenting handy.

For me, most things are easily understandable by the description tag or other elements, but I'm not too sure about other users, and as far as I'm concerned, with an open source project that is as highly customisable as XBMC is, more documentation is better than less. And with the final release of V2.0, I think this would be a good addition to the already detailed user documentation. Some of you might think this is overkill though. And perhaps for the most used customisations (e.g. weather on the home screen etc.), those additions could be added in, but commented out. I'm willing to add as much commenting as I can in the areas that I know. But perhaps the best way of doing this would be to have a wiki, so anyone can go and add commenting to the xml's.

My opinion anyway.
xml is only used for:

1. Skins. The skin engine is documented on the manual, but could always do with more concrete examples (and fixing any old out of date ones) - go for it!

2. AdvancedSettings.xml - this is also well documented in the manual, and as it's advanced, is not necessary for most users to know about.

3. Keymap.xml - the format is documented both in the file, and in the manual, but more could be used, along with some example keymap files for download etc. Our new manual supports file uploads so this shouldn't be a problem to add - go for it!

4. Other xml's that people don't need to be editting Wink