Kodi DSPlayer – DirectShow Player for Windows

  Thread Rating:
  • 33 Vote(s) - 4.45 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
dilu Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3241
Hello guys,

since a few days i am giving 3D MVC a try Smile

but i am having problems with Kodi Dsplayer.

When i start a 3D MKV it starts fine. But during the movie some frames are played out of order (like jumping around).

I first had this problem on my Media PC with Windows 8.1.

After that i installed Kodi Dsplayer on the Media PC of my Dad (same AVR but other TV - Windows 10 / ATI extra GPU) and everything worked!

So i installed Win 10 on my Media PC too and tried it again - Result: Same Problem with 3D- but now i have it sometimes during 2d Movies too when jumping through the movie.

Here's my specs and software:

Kodi with DSPlayer 16.1 RC2 (latest)
MadVR 0.90.17 (latest)
Fullscreen Exclusive Mode disabled
Windows 10
Intel I5 4330
onBoard HD 4600

Latest Intel Graphics Driver

maybe someone has an idea for me?

Kind regards
find quote
Warner306 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,618
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 90
Location: Canada
Post: #3242
(2016-03-31 17:16)dilu Wrote:  Hello guys,

since a few days i am giving 3D MVC a try Smile

but i am having problems with Kodi Dsplayer.

When i start a 3D MKV it starts fine. But during the movie some frames are played out of order (like jumping around).

I first had this problem on my Media PC with Windows 8.1.

After that i installed Kodi Dsplayer on the Media PC of my Dad (same AVR but other TV - Windows 10 / ATI extra GPU) and everything worked!

So i installed Win 10 on my Media PC too and tried it again - Result: Same Problem with 3D- but now i have it sometimes during 2d Movies too when jumping through the movie.

Here's my specs and software:

Kodi with DSPlayer 16.1 RC2 (latest)
MadVR 0.90.17 (latest)
Fullscreen Exclusive Mode disabled
Windows 10
Intel I5 4330
onBoard HD 4600

Latest Intel Graphics Driver

maybe someone has an idea for me?

Kind regards

Your graphics processor is too slow to render MVC 3D. Try using something light like DXVA2 image upscaling.
find quote
dilu Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3243
But why is MVC 3D working without problems in Stereoscopic Player?

And why there is sometimes the same Problem in 2d since Win 10? (in 8.1 i didnt had the problem)

**edit - During 2 D the OSD is jumping sometimes also when the playback is runing - for me it seems like a problem with the overlay?!?**
(This post was last modified: 2016-03-31 20:56 by dilu.)
find quote
JeffA Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3244
Since upgrading to the latest version a month or so ago, I've been having frequent crashes upon starting playback. I'm now on Jarvis 16.1 RC2 (latest version as of 3/28) and am still having the problem.

Log is here: http://xbmclogs.com/pgvpg7wmp

Kodi most often crashes when I've stopped playback and attempt to start playback again - on the same video file or a different one. Sometimes it happens the first time I start playback after opening Kodi, but not usually.

My setup:
Windows 8.1
Kodi Jarvis 16.1 RC2 + dsplayer * (03/28/2016)
madVR v0.90.13
fullscreen exclusive mode enabled in madVR settings
Kodi set to Adjust display refresh rate upon playback start/stop
madVR display modes: 1080p23, 1080p24, 1080p59, 1080p60
find quote
oldpoem Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 843
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 13
Post: #3245
Use only one method to adjust display rate. If you use Kodi, blank madvr display modes. If you want to use madvr display modes changing, disable Kodi option.

I personnally let Kodi do it.
find quote
JeffA Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3246
(2016-03-31 23:29)oldpoem Wrote:  Use only one method to adjust display rate. If you use Kodi, blank madvr display modes. If you want to use madvr display modes changing, disable Kodi option.

I personnally let Kodi do it.

Thanks. I just disabled display rate adjustment in madVR, and left it on in Kodi. I'll see if this does the trick.
find quote
gotham_x Offline
Fan
Posts: 380
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 1
Location: The City of Darkness _@_Italy_@_
Post: #3247
(2016-03-31 23:29)oldpoem Wrote:  Use only one method to adjust display rate. If you use Kodi, blank madvr display modes. If you want to use madvr display modes changing, disable Kodi option.

I personnally let Kodi do it.

To this regard , thing happen in leaving both activated option ?
find quote
SoundsGreat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3248
Hi,

Quote:If normal Kodi play 720 h264 fine. Check Lavfilters properties to see if HW accerelation is selected to DXVA2 copy-back. Should be no problem if you set all to DXVA2 or normal scaling method like bicubic.

Yes the HW accerelation is active (have checked & made sure the DXVA selected in Kodi setup) and have also doubled checked the Lav Video and it shows active HW. No HW for HEVC though.

Quote:The last two versions of madVR slowed down performance to improve anti-ringing. So you don't have to go back to Isengard. Just use an older version of madVR. Like oldpoem said, with hardware acceleration enabled in LAV Video, you should have smooth playback with Bicubic or Lanczos. But you won't be able to use image enhancements or upscaling refinement.

Well that's the problem now itsn't it ? Am able to play without image enhancements with some effort no issues there,it's just that when I use any of them it slows the video playback.

Quote:For HEVC playback of large files, you will need a GPU that supports HEVC hardware acceleration. All of the new graphics cards this year should feature HEVC support. A new CPU won't get you very far

Did you have a look at the link ?? it's not just a CPU,Its the 8Gen Pentium with inbuilt GPU with 4K support,shader 5.0 and DX11.2,The latest in terms of video playback,Don't want or care much about gaming.

AGAIN let me reiterate,I want fist rate Video playback (be it 720p,1080p or such) even for now 3D as well is not matter of concern, I should be able to play a 720p/1080p MKV,MP4 with AR enabled (whatever works,Jinc,Super Xbr) and Enhance Image,Sharpen image and such enabled (as those look best to my eyes)

So In that regard whatever hardware needs to looked into,Am ready to look into ! Again reiterating that All in one is the first choice for the logical and obvious reasosns,but Am willing to look into individual components if all in one asbsolutely will not do.

Regards.

MOBO :AMD A68i-350
RAM:6GB DDR3
CPU : 1.6GHZ DUAL CORE
GPU : HD6310 (512MB Shared Memory)
(This post was last modified: 2016-04-01 15:19 by SoundsGreat.)
find quote
dilu Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3249
(2016-03-31 18:40)Warner306 Wrote:  
(2016-03-31 17:16)dilu Wrote:  Hello guys,

since a few days i am giving 3D MVC a try Smile

but i am having problems with Kodi Dsplayer.

When i start a 3D MKV it starts fine. But during the movie some frames are played out of order (like jumping around).

I first had this problem on my Media PC with Windows 8.1.

After that i installed Kodi Dsplayer on the Media PC of my Dad (same AVR but other TV - Windows 10 / ATI extra GPU) and everything worked!

So i installed Win 10 on my Media PC too and tried it again - Result: Same Problem with 3D- but now i have it sometimes during 2d Movies too when jumping through the movie.

Here's my specs and software:

Kodi with DSPlayer 16.1 RC2 (latest)
MadVR 0.90.17 (latest)
Fullscreen Exclusive Mode disabled
Windows 10
Intel I5 4330
onBoard HD 4600

Latest Intel Graphics Driver

maybe someone has an idea for me?

Kind regards

Your graphics processor is too slow to render MVC 3D. Try using something light like DXVA2 image upscaling.

Hi,

now i am nearly sure that you are wrong! (i use a MKV MVC made from an 3d Bluray Movie Image)

There is no problem when i play a MVC MKV and leave my TV in 2d mode (its running perfect!) - the Problem comes when i switch to 3d mode.

This time i looked a little bit closer at it and i saw something like a switch in the overlay of the 2 images (3d) - on the left and right border areas you can see that the overlay of the 2 images is not stable (its getting smaller and bigger).

Maybe now someone has an idea?

Kind regards
find quote
aracnoz Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 289
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 70
Post: #3250
hi,

with the recent changes in madVR I decided to redraw the OSD part of DSPlayer, so you can manage the structure of the OSD settings from an xml file

the file is located in "Kodi/system/players/dsplayer/madvrsettings.xml", you can also put a modified file in "%appdata%/kodi/userdata/dsplayer/madvrsettings.xml" to override the original one
if you need some extra strings you can create a strings file in "%appdata%/kodi/userdata/dsplayer/strings.po" with only the extra strings you needs for your customized madvrsettings.xml

these files will be read once at startup so you have to restart kodi to see the changes.

you can see the file here: https://github.com/aracnoz/xbmc/blob/Jar...ttings.xml

this is the main xml structure, you can also create sections within other sections
Code:
<settings>
  <!-- video settings root -->
  <group>
    <setting />
    <setting />
    <setting />
  </group>
  <group>
    <setting />
    <setting />
    <section>
      <!-- new section -->
      <group>
        <setting />
        <setting />
        <setting />
      </group>
      <group>
        <section>
          <!-- sub section -->
          <group>
            <setting />
            <setting />
          </group>
          <!-- end sub section -->
        </section>
      </group>
      <group>
        <setting />
        <setting />
      </group>
      <!-- end new section -->
    </section>
    <setting />
    <setting />
  </group>
  <!-- end video settings root -->
</settings>

on top of the file there are two special part to create the dummy profiles and to enable the debugging

this is to create the DSPlayer Dummy Group/Profile in madVR
Code:
<dsprofile path="processing" folder="deinterlacing|artifactRemoval|enhancements|zoomControl" />
<dsprofile path="scalingParent" folder="chromaUp|lumaUp|lumaDown|imageDoubling|upRefine" />
<dsprofile path="rendering" folder="smoothMotion|dithering" />

by uncommenting this part will be created a button to list all madVR settings in debug log with the current values
you will need these info to compile the madvrsettings.xml, you have to set the "path" with the right value to list the related madVR settings
with the debug mode active will be logged also events like SetSettings and GetSettings, don't not leave this part uncommented during normal playback to avoid unnecessary extra processing/logging
Code:
<!-- <debug path="processing|scalingParent|rendering" label="69999" /> -->
[Image: writesettings.png]

here some debug log sample, with [*] the SetSettings/GetSettings had success, with [x] has failed
Code:
OnSET:
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][SetBoolbool    ] autoActivateDeinterlacing = true (boolean)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][SetBoolbool    ] ifInDoubtDeinterlace = false (boolean)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][SetString      ] contentType = auto (string)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][SetBool        ] scanPartialFrame = true (boolean)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][SetBool        ] debandActive = true (boolean)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][SetInt         ] debandLevel = 0 (integer)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][SetInt         ] debandFadeLevel = 2 (integer)

OnGET:
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][GetString      ] chromaUp = SuperXbr150 (string)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][GetBool        ] chromaAntiRinging = true (boolean)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][GetBool        ] superChromaRes = true (boolean)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][GetFloat       ] superChromaResStrength = 3 (3.000000) (integer)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][GetString      ] lumaUp = Jinc3 (string)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][GetBool        ] lumaUpAntiRinging = true (boolean)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][GetBool        ] lumaUpSigmoidal = false (boolean)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][GetString      ] lumaDown = SSIM1D100 (string)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][GetBoolbool    ] lumaDownAntiRinging = true (boolean)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][GetBoolbool    ] lumaDownAntiRingingSoft = false (boolean)
DEBUG: [madVR debug][*][GetBool        ] lumaDownLinear = true (boolean)

here a sample of the all madVR settings listed by pressing the debug button
Code:
ALL SETTINGS BUTTON:
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Path   ] ################################################################
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Path   ] processing
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Path   ] ################################################################
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Folder ] --------------------------------------------------------------
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Folder ] deinterlacing - deinterlacing folder
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Folder ] --------------------------------------------------------------
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] autoActivateDeinterlacing = true (boolean)    automatically activate deinterlacing when needed
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] ifInDoubtDeinterlace = false (boolean)    if in doubt, activate deinterlacing
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] dontDeinterlace48i = true (boolean)    disable deinterlacing for frame rates of 23.970 and 24.000 fps
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] contentType = auto (string)    source type
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] scanPartialFrame = true (boolean)    only look at pixels in the frame center
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] deinterlaceThread = true (boolean)    perform deinterlacing in separate thread


the TYPES for the xml settings are: "bool", "list_string", "list_int", "list_boolbool", "list_boolstring", "list_boolint", "float"

some madVR setting is managed by two variables, the first one only to enable the setting and the second one with the value so why some special type like "boolbool"
I had to hardcode 3 settings: in scaling "imagedouble", in zoom "arquickchange", "cleanborders", because the nature of these settings.
you can also add some dependencies to make the setting visible/enable at conditions, I cannot explain everything, but I think that you have just to read the xml file to get an idea

here some example to how to compile the XML using the info from the debug log.


TYPE: bool


[Image: chromaAnti_Bool.png]

[Image: chromaAnti_Bool_kodi.png]

Code:
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] chromaAntiRinging = true (boolean)    activate anti-ringing filter for chroma upsampling

XML:
Code:
<setting name="chromaAntiRinging" type="bool" label=70031 parent="chromaUp" default="false" />


TYPE: list_string

[Image: chromaUp_list_string.png]

[Image: chromaUp_list_string_kodi0.png]

[Image: chromaUp_list_string_kodi1.png]

Code:
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] chromaUp = SuperXbr150 (string)    chroma upsampling

XML:
Code:
<setting name="chromaUp" type="list_string" label=70028 default="Bicubic75">
  <option value="Nearest Neighbor" label=70001 />
  <option value="Bilinear" label=70002 />
  <option value="Mitchell-Netravali" label=70004 />
  <option value="Catmull-Rom" label=70005 />
  <option value="Bicubic50" label=70006 />
  <option value="Bicubic60" label=70007 />
  <option value="Bicubic75" label=70008 />
</setting>


TYPE: list_boolbool

[Image: deinterlace_list_boolbool.png]

[Image: deinterlace_list_boolbool_kodi0.png]

[Image: deinterlace_list_boolbool_kodi1.png]

Code:
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] autoActivateDeinterlacing = true (boolean)    automatically activate deinterlacing when needed
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] ifInDoubtDeinterlace = false (boolean)    if in doubt, activate deinterlacing

XML:
Code:
<setting name="autoActivateDeinterlacing" value="ifInDoubtDeinterlace" type="list_boolbool" label=70200 default="false">
  <option value="-1" label=70117 /> <!-- disabled -->
  <option value="true" label=70205 />
  <option value="false" label=70206 />
</setting>


TYPE: list_boolstring


[Image: smoothmotion_list_boolstring.png]

[Image: smoothmotion_list_boolstring_kodi0.png]

[Image: smoothmotion_list_boolstring_kodi1.png]

Code:
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] smoothMotionEnabled = false (boolean)    enable smooth motion frame rate conversion
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] smoothMotionMode = avoidJudder (string)    smooth motion mode

XML:
Code:
<setting name="smoothMotionEnabled" value="smoothMotionMode" type="list_boolstring" label=70300 default=-1>
  <option value="-1" label=70117 /> <!-- disabled -->
  <option value="avoidJudder" label=70301 />
  <option value="almostAlways" label=70302 />
  <option value="always" label=70303 />
</setting>
find quote
aracnoz Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 289
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 70
Post: #3251
TYPE: list_boolint

[Image: lumadown_antibloating_list_boolint.png]

[Image: lumadown_antibloating_list_boolint_kodi0.png]

[Image: lumadown_antibloating_list_boolint_kodi1.png]

Code:
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] ssimAB = false (boolean)    activate anti-bloating filter for ssim downscaling
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] ssimABStrength = 100 (integer)    anti-bloating strength for ssim downscaling

XML:
Code:
<setting name="ssimAB" value="ssimABStrength" type="list_boolint" label=70147 parent="lumaDown" default="-1">
  <option value="-1" label=70117 /> <!-- disabled -->
  <option value="25" label=70148 />
  <option value="50" label=70149 />
  <option value="75" label=70150  />
  <option value="100" label=70151 />
  <option value="125" label=70152 />
  <option value="150" label=70153 />
</setting>


TYPE: float

[Image: sharp_float.png]

[Image: sharp_float_kodi.png]

Code:
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] lumaSharpen = false (boolean)    LumaSharpen
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] lumaSharpenStrength = 66 (integer)    LumaSharpen strength

DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] adaptiveSharpen = false (boolean)    AdaptiveSharpen
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] adaptiveSharpenStrength = 5 (integer)    AdaptiveSharpen strength

XML:
Code:
<setting name="lumaSharpen" type="bool" label=70119 default="false" />
<setting name="lumaSharpenStrength" type="float" label=70122 parentlabel=70119 parent="lumaSharpen" default="0.66" min=0 max=3 step=0.01 format="%1.2f" />

<setting name="adaptiveSharpen" type="bool" label=70120 default="false" />
<setting name="adaptiveSharpenStrength" type="float" label=70122 parentlabel=70120 parent="adaptiveSharpen" default="0.5" min=0 max=3 step=0.1 format="%1.1f" />


TYPE: !bool (with negate)

[Image: refineonce_bool_negate.png]

[Image: refineonce_bool_negate_kodi.png]

Code:
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] refineOnce = false (boolean)    refine the image only once after upscaling is complete

XML:
Code:
<setting name="refineOnce" type="!bool" label=70126 default="false" />


TYPE: !list_bool*** (with negate)


[Image: dithering_list_boostring_negate.png]

[Image: dithering_list_boostring_negate_kodi0.png]

[Image: dithering_list_boostring_negate_kodi1.png]

Code:
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] ditheringAlgo = errorDifLowNoise (string)    dithering algorithm
DEBUG: [madVR debug][Value  ] dontDither = false (boolean)    don't use dithering

XML:
Code:
<setting name="dontDither" value="ditheringAlgo" type="!list_boolstring" label=70400 default="ordered">
  <option value="-1" label=70117 /> <!-- disabled -->
  <option value="random" label=70401 />
  <option value="ordered" label=70402 />
  <option value="errorDifMedNoise" label=70403 />
  <option value="errorDifLowNoise" label=70404 />
</setting>

now you can customize the settings as you prefer, the current madvrsettings.xml is based on madvr 0.90.17, there is only a problem with SSIM1D25 that I had to disable because it's not properly activated by madVR (when using the api madvr select the last used SSIM), this is an alternative madvrsettings.xml with the relative strings.po that contains the extra strings, you have to put these file in "%appdata%/kodi/userdata/dsplayer/" to test it

alternative_madvrsettings.zip

I updated the internal lav filters to 0.68.0 (dsplayer custom version)

now the bad part, maybe it will be a little rude but it's just to be clear

I'm NOT back.
I will not develop DSPlayer anymore.
I cannot support DSPlayer anymore.
To be sure not to create any expectations I will disappear again after this post. (so sorry if I will not response to any questions)


I made these change for me with the final purpose to not touch Vistual studio anymore and also to have a DSPlayer version fully compatible for any madVR upgrade, but since this release exist I feel that it's right that all of you can use it

source:
https://github.com/aracnoz/xbmc/tree/Jarvis_dsplayer

binary:
KodiSetup-20160331-65c961e-Jarvis_dsplayer.exe
KodiSetup-20160331-65c961e-Jarvis_dsplayer.pdb


ciauz Smile
find quote
vicmanpergar Offline
Fan
Posts: 687
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 7
Post: #3252
@aracnoz

I must admit my heart started to pound like crazy, till i completaly read ur post.
Thanks for the post anyway, I hope everythings ok in ur life buddy.
Big hug
Wink

HTPC
Silverstone Grandia GD05 - Intel i5 3570k -Asus H61M-G Micro-ATX - Unidad Blu-ray
MSI GTX970 4GB GDDR5 - 8 GB RAM DDR3 - AVR Yamaha RX-V473 5.1 - Panasonic Plasma 50'' Viera P50-V20


find quote
HotShottt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Smile  RE: Kodi DSPlayer – DirectShow Player for Windows
Post: #3253
(2016-04-01 18:03)aracnoz Wrote:  hi,

with the recent changes in madVR I decided to redraw the OSD part of DSPlayer, so you can manage the structure of the OSD settings from an xml file...


No, this can't be an April Fools' joke :-D
(This post was last modified: 2016-04-01 19:04 by HotShottt.)
find quote
Talguy Offline
Fan
Posts: 485
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 8
Post: #3254
wow, thanks @aracnoz. Much appreciated. Sad to see you're not returning but atleast we know you're keeping a watchful eye on things Wink

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
find quote
SALAMINOMACHOS Offline
Fan
Posts: 536
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: PIRAEUS GREECE
Post: #3255
@ aracnoz

Well , well you came back

I hope , it is not an April joke

Can somebody to compile these settings?

Wanilton where are you?

Many thanks
find quote
Post Reply