Using network share for artwork and thumbs?
Sup guys!

I've been a long time user of Kodi/XBMC, and just now registered for the forums. lol I'm a pro linux admin by trade, so hopefully I'll be able to help out some...

Anyway, ran across an issue that I'm trying to get sorted.

Basically, I've got a NAS box that is running CIFS (samba) exports for my media. I've set up a new export that I want to use explicitly for metadata, thumbnails and artwork. The reasoning behind this is that I'm running into i/o issues with a few raspberry pi frontends, and i figured if I put them on the SSD and shared them over the network, everything should be good.

So far, I've not been able to sort out how to do this correctly. From the linux side of the house, I've verified that the CIFS export is working properly (I can mount it).

Currently running Gotham on Openelec. I can post my entire config if needed.... but its prob way more complex than it needs to be lol.

i've hit up the wiki page here: http://kodi.wiki/view/Artwork, as well as attempted the path subsitution thing here: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?pid=...3pid837103 with no luck. I just get 'blank' art when surfing the codi frontend.

anyway, I'll keep tinkering to see if I can find a solution. Just thought I'd ask anyone out there if they've managed to get this working sucessfully.

Thanks!
Hello there welcome to the forums.

If you read http://kodi.wiki/view/Path_substitution it will become apparently clear to you the glaring omission, i.e. the huge disclaimer at the top.

Also terrible idea IMO! Since you are a professional Linux admin by trade, I'll spare you the explanation about introducing network overhead (in the form of latency) to a already fairly inefficient process that is the artwork caching process in Kodi. (because the caching is tied to the GUI e.g. is triggered when navigating around a library).