How to get videos from youtube playlist?
Hi to all.

I am new to plugin development. Recently I wrote two simple plugins for my personal use, but I also published the code on GitHub (I can share links here if that is not in conflict with some forum policy Smile ).
Now, I would like to improve one of these plugins.
The plugin shows the live program of some regional TV station. I would like to include sections (folders) in plugin that will contains some tvShows that are emmited on that tv station. All episodes of tv shows are published as youtube videos and playlists (every show has its own youtube playlist).
I already know that I can use kodi youtube plugin to play specific youtube video, but the question is how can I get all youtube videos if I know the ID of the playlist?

I was searching on the web and saw that some of plugins used youtube api v2 which is deprecated.
I didn't saw that someone is using youtube api v3 in kodi plugins ? (I guess that that has something related with developer_id which is required for v3, and nobody wants to expose its own id Huh).

Is there any workaround or any other way to get youtube videos inforation from yt playlist?
You should request an API key at the Google developers page. As long as the playlists are publicly available, you don't need athentication (other then your API key).

Then you can use the python googleapiclient to get the videos belonging to this playlist. You can get 50 videos at a time max. So when there are more videos you have to paginate the results, so you can grab 50 at a time. Examples of this are available at the Google Developers pages. Here you can also test the response from the youtube api. Quite handy.

Here is a function I made to get videos by playlistid in youtube api v3 (dont forget to import the googleapiclient, and set the vars.variables as your own):
Code:
#Grabs the videos from a playlist by playlistId
# Params:
    # id: The id of the playlist which videos you want to retrieve