v14 Are there any Kodi official builds
I am new to Kodi and am really impressed. I downloaded a build (Nemesis) but have recently found out that the content may not be legal. I primarily want to use Kodi to access my own files on NAS (movies/ pictures/ music) but am happy to make use of any legal and family orientated add-ons

Is there a family build out there which ensures that all add-ons are official Kodi add-ons and pukka?
Yes, ofcource.
Check out the download page on kodi.tv ;-)
Kodi official builds (like the one downloadable via the link at the top of the page, the one @Atreyu mentioned) don't come with any media sources pre-installed. If you see any builds which do, they are more than likely the piracy ones like you mentioned (and that we do not condone or support here).

Indeed supplying a build with such junk pre-installed is actually a violation of the foundation's Official:Trademark Policy (wiki). The official repo, which is included in our builds, is the source for reputable and approved add-ons. Just install what you want or need from there. Also look in the add-ons section here, where you will find other add-ons which are acceptable (although not all are in the official repo, but their threads usually contain install instructions in their first posts).
|Banned add-ons (wiki)|Forum rules (wiki)|VPN policy (wiki)|First time user (wiki)|FAQs (wiki) Troubleshooting (wiki)|Add-ons (wiki)|Free content (wiki)|Debug Log (wiki)|

Kodi Blog Posts
thanks Darren,

I guess the only gd thing about the builds is that for a novice like me then all the add-ons are automatically installed and the set up works really nicely even for a novice. I will uninstall my build now I know it is not endorsed.