Can't Access Windows 10 shared folder
Thanks so much. That is a very strange thing for SMB and Windows 10 but sharing the folder from a different drive worked. I'm still testing but so far so good. I've been working with shares in Windows since Windows NT and this is just nuts.
Nuts it is!
My main file server/share in now win10.. sadly win10 really messed up smb. Technet.microsoft is full of smb issues. Microsoft has some work to do. This fix took a while to sort, but the family is happy with it.. glad it helped you. Win10 was really pushed on us hard, which for the most part I like, but smb compatibility has caused a lot of grief. I have been using this work around for several months 24/7. I am blocking anniversary updates and random forced reboots (Unacceptable for a file server). It should work fine for you - Less the need to partition or add drives.

If I get C shares to work acceptably. I will update.

Happy kodi-ing,
G
(2017-01-02, 22:01)handbone Wrote: I had a similar problem. I had to switch over to the default skin because the skin I was using didn't show the username/password dialog when adding my smb as a source. After that, I was able to select my smb share, add the username/password, and save it for future use.

This solution answered my problems. Thank you very much! Big Grin
Hello Guys,
\First of all thanks for these tips. Unfortunately I am unable to solve this problem on my end. The problem I encounter is that when I am  adding the  server  ip manually as suggested (i.e  My windows 10 desktop containing  the file I want to share) I get  this following message: Path not found or invalid. I have double checked that this is the correct IP address of  my desktop (Network properties). It is discoverable through the smb but get the usual message Operation not permitted. I suspect that the problem comes from my windows 10 configuration but can't find from where (No homegroup has been set, File sharing and discovery is on, ).