Kodi 17 - extended info not working

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
glubbish Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 3
Location: Melbourne Australia
Post: #1
Running rc3

After hitting i on a movie/tv show, I select extended info and get: "error could not find valid content type"

Is this due to a setting or a potential bug?

Thanks
find quote
djneil Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
(2017-01-15 01:06)glubbish Wrote:  Running rc3

After hitting i on a movie/tv show, I select extended info and get: "error could not find valid content type"

Is this due to a setting or a potential bug?

Thanks


I have got the same problem, freshly installed libreelec.
find quote
edc415 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: San Francisco, CA
Post: #3
I have the same issue "error could not find valid content type" from the both Series & Episode information screens.using Krypton 17.0 for Android ARM 64bit on Amazon Fire TV. It's like the button is broken. Used to work on earlier builds but stopped working mid-January. Extended.info still works if done from TV Series List using the context menu.
find quote
redaktorn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Me too - "error could not find valid content type".
Tried all different setting in the add-on including login to TMDB - still not working.
However if I install script for context menu and start from there it is working?

Running krypton with Estuary skin on Ubuntu 16.04
find quote
lefty420 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Location: Nerdsville
Post: #5
(2017-02-19 18:11)redaktorn Wrote:  Me too - "error could not find valid content type".
Tried all different setting in the add-on including login to TMDB - still not working.
However if I install script for context menu and start from there it is working?

Running krypton with Estuary skin on Ubuntu 16.04

Fix for krypton here
find quote
majik895 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
The issue is that the latest extendedinfo script has been made to work with Kodi 18 Leia. In Kodi 18 Leia, the function System.HasModalDialog has been changed to System.HasActiveModalDialog. This causes the error "Could not find valid content type". To fix it for Kodi 17 look in your addon directory and open the file process.py ("C:\Users\yourusername\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\script.extendedinfo\resources\​‚Äčlib") .

Look for the line:
if xbmc.getCondVisibility("System.HasActiveModalDialog")

should be line 260 and change it to

if xbmc.getCondVisibility("System.HasModalDialog").

Hope the original author can fix it in an update to work with both Kodi 17 and 18.
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-21 00:48 by majik895.)
find quote
hamsandwich Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
What if your using the android version, how do you fix this problem?
find quote
igenena Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 1
Post: #8
How can we fix this on Android, am using Nvidia shield tv pro.
find quote