Streaming video to smart TV but decoding with pc on LAN
Hi all,

First of all, I'm quite new to the whole media center thing and I've researched the issue extensively but I'm not sure what keywords to look for so I always end up with articles that don't really answer my question. Apologies if this has already been discussed.

I have quite a capable workstation (win10, i5 4460, gtx1060 6gb, 16gb ram) hosting 4k and 1080p movies and recently bought a 4k smart tv. Only those 2 are not and can't be in the same room.
I also have a gaming laptop (win10, i5 6300hq, nvidia 960m, 8gb ram) with kodi 17.6 that accesses the files on the workstation over ethernet and is hooked up to the tv via hdmi.
Doing some tests it seems the laptop has a hard time decoding 4k, sound is ok but I can see some jittery motion that is very annoying. For now I'm only testing 4k h265 files. The workstation though has no problem playing back the 4k content locally with kodi.

So I would like my workstation to do the decoding and only stream that to the TV, which is connected to LAN via ethernet. I would prefer not connecting the laptop to the tv and just getting the video to the tv via ethernet.
What would be the best way to do this?
Kodi doesn't transcode, so you'd have to redo all of your media into a suitable format for the laptop.

A better solution might be something like Plex which does transcoding, with the server on your workstation and a client on your laptop for the playback. There are also add-ons for Plex in Kodi, so you can still use Kodi as the front-end and Plex as the source.