Kodi on RPi - a Very frustrating experience...... so far
Hello,

I am very new to the KODI world and honestly, i may jump ship as I find it very frustrating to make progress.
What am i trying to do with KODI? just to get a reasonably reliable Media server up and running based on RPi for Home use, nothing fancy for example look at uTube videos and some of our own videos and pictures, then progress from there to look at Free to Air TV channels ie BBC News (im Uk Based) for example.

I am reasonably comfortable in getting around on the RPi with the standard OS, so I have tried KODI using implementations based on OSMC, Librelec and I have also tried to install Kodi directly onto the latest version of RPi OS using the sudo apt install kodi method, here would be a summary of my issues and I seem to be stuck at the very basics, my observations/issues are:-

It's all very good having the latest version of KODI available to load onto the RPi, but the biggest stumbling block i have come across is linked to incompatible versions of Python used in Add-ons etc, I've spent hours finding addons then trying to install them and they fail with a Python-related incompatible error message.

For example, I successfully installed the Utube add-on and then got "Submerged" in the whole issue of getting API etc and signing but the biggest issue I realised at this point was that the Simple function of Cutting and Pasting API data into the Addon appears to be impossible....how can this be done, please? I've searched the web and failed to find any solution.

I know this is not your issue but there seem to be a plethora of pages around that claim to have solutions on HOW TO Huh? in Kodi and when you follow the instructions, at some point, I've come to a point where it is obvious that they are referring to older (much older) version of KODI , is there some KODI location that people like me can go to that hold information relative to particular version of the product release.