Picture quality issue
Hi all, I'm new to XBMC. I've searched for an answer to my issue on here, but I'm coming up a little short.

I have installed XBMC on both my laptop running vista x64, and my 5 year old desktop running XP. Everything looks great on the laptop, the issue is with my desktop.

I have the desktop connected via VGA out to my 42" Pioneer plasma. I used Powerstrip to add a 1360x768 resolution to my desktop pc so I get a perfect image on the plasma. Whenever I have played AVI files through windows media player, everything has looked awesome.

The issue is that XBMC looks like a color setting may not be correct. The resolution itself seems to be ok, it matches up well, and if I bring up the pattern that allows you to stretch, it goes to the corners as it should.

However, it seems to color-band extremely bad, like it's running in 16-bit color or something. If I play a file in WMP, looks fine. Launch it through XBMC, and it goes to poo. The resolution is set to the 1360x768. Any ideas on what I could check?
got latest drivers for your video card?
Goooood question. My guess is no, as I haven't used this desktop in forever (hooking it up to my control4 system now as a media player.) I'll get on that and let you know.
I am having the same problem on my recently installation of XBMC. Playback of video on Windows Media Player is fine, however, same video through XBMC has poor color quality. Any resolution out there? Thanks...
nicholsonrl Wrote:I am having the same problem on my recently installation of XBMC. Playback of video on Windows Media Player is fine, however, same video through XBMC has poor color quality. Any resolution out there? Thanks...