Add XBMC Lyrics to a specific button

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Heaven29 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello.

First, i would like to thank everyone for their time and effort making the best media player out there. No one mentioned, no one forgotten.

I really enjoy lyrics with my music, but i think it's complicated to get the lyrics on the screen. I would like to assign a button, say "D", to be my lyrics-button. That means, when i play a song and press "D" on my keyboard, the lyrics will automatically come up on the screen.

I guess that this means that you have to make a shortcut to C:\Program Files\XBMC\skin\MediaStream\extras\XBMC Lyrics\default.py but i do not have the skills to make this on my own.

Is this possible in any way?

Regards
H29

_HTPC_: Zalman HD XT 160 Plus incl. 7" LCD / Intel E8400 / Intel X-25 SSD / Gigabyte EG45M-DS2H / 4 GB Corsair DDR 800 mhz / 6TB HDD / ASUS XONAR DS / Microsoft LifeCam Cinema 720p / Logitec DiNovo Mini/ _LAPTOP_: Sony Vaio TZ31 / MTron 1.8" SSD / _TV_: Samsung 52" FullHD LCD / _RECIEVER_AND_SURROUND_: Harman Kardon 245 5.1 / _ROUTER_: DLink DIR-655 / _INTERNET_AND_ISP__ Telia 100/100mbit / _DOG_ Miniature Schnauzer
find quote
Batemann Offline
Aeon Group
Posts: 323
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Post: #2
Anything is possible with XBMC.

I did the exact thing a few months back for my remote.

Edit the keymap.xml. Find the approriate section in which you want to add your button (Mymusic for example) then edit, or add the D (don't know if it's used already)
And then I used: XBMC.RunScript(q:\\scripts\xbmc lyrics\default.py) (this was on the xbox, I'm new to the windowsplatform, so the syntax for the path may be incorrect.)

Hope this helps you.
find quote
Heaven29 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thank you for your try, but i can't get it to work.

I edited the keymap.xml, so now, under MyMusicFiles it looks like this:

.........
<keyboard>
<space>Playlist</space>
<q>Queue</q>
XBMC.RunScript<d>C:\Program Files\XBMC\skin\MediaStream\extras\XBMC Lyrics\default.py</d>
</keyboard>
</MyMusicFiles>

Still, when i play a song and press D, nothing happens.

Regards
H29

_HTPC_: Zalman HD XT 160 Plus incl. 7" LCD / Intel E8400 / Intel X-25 SSD / Gigabyte EG45M-DS2H / 4 GB Corsair DDR 800 mhz / 6TB HDD / ASUS XONAR DS / Microsoft LifeCam Cinema 720p / Logitec DiNovo Mini/ _LAPTOP_: Sony Vaio TZ31 / MTron 1.8" SSD / _TV_: Samsung 52" FullHD LCD / _RECIEVER_AND_SURROUND_: Harman Kardon 245 5.1 / _ROUTER_: DLink DIR-655 / _INTERNET_AND_ISP__ Telia 100/100mbit / _DOG_ Miniature Schnauzer
find quote
Waffa Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,163
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Post: #4
<d>XBMC.RunScript(C:\Program Files\XBMC\skin\MediaStream\extras\XBMC Lyrics\default.py)</d>

Should be like this.
find quote
Heaven29 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Thank you so much Waffa. I missed that and when adjusted, it works like a charm!

Thank you all for contributing to XBMC!

Regards
H29

_HTPC_: Zalman HD XT 160 Plus incl. 7" LCD / Intel E8400 / Intel X-25 SSD / Gigabyte EG45M-DS2H / 4 GB Corsair DDR 800 mhz / 6TB HDD / ASUS XONAR DS / Microsoft LifeCam Cinema 720p / Logitec DiNovo Mini/ _LAPTOP_: Sony Vaio TZ31 / MTron 1.8" SSD / _TV_: Samsung 52" FullHD LCD / _RECIEVER_AND_SURROUND_: Harman Kardon 245 5.1 / _ROUTER_: DLink DIR-655 / _INTERNET_AND_ISP__ Telia 100/100mbit / _DOG_ Miniature Schnauzer
find quote
idioteque Offline
Fan
Posts: 407
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I have the same issue under windows:
Subtitels using a Keyboard and I want to map it to F11 but it does not work

Any sugestions? the script does work under the script menu

Keymap:

<f11>XBMC.RunScript(C:\WINXP\Program Files XP\XBMC\scripts\OpenSubtitles\default.py)</f11>
find quote
WiSo Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 2,744
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #7
Thats my fault cause I hard coded F11 to switch full screen. Removed it in #16946 as alt+enter does the same.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Waffa Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,163
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Netherlands
Post: #8
idioteque Wrote:I have the same issue under windows:
Subtitels using a Keyboard and I want to map it to F11 but it does not work

Any sugestions? the script does work under the script menu

Keymap:

<f11>XBMC.RunScript(C:\WINXP\Program Files XP\XBMC\scripts\OpenSubtitles\default.py)</f11>

Try another button
Example: insert

<insert>XBMC.RunScript(C:\WINXP\Program Files XP\XBMC\scripts\OpenSubtitles\default.py)</insert>

<f11> Don't use numbers.(1=one) I think.
Don't now proper name.
find quote
idioteque Offline
Fan
Posts: 407
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
I think is the hardcoding that was wrong. Cause F1-F10 work perfectly.

Thanks for the advice, I will try using insert when at home
find quote
conchamp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Heaven29 Wrote:Hello.

First, i would like to thank everyone for their time and effort making the best media player out there. No one mentioned, no one forgotten.

I really enjoy lyrics with my music, but i think it's complicated to get the lyrics on the screen. I would like to assign a button, say "D", to be my lyrics-button. That means, when i play a song and press "D" on my keyboard, the lyrics will automatically come up on the screen.

I guess that this means that you have to make a shortcut to C:\Program Files\XBMC\skin\MediaStream\extras\XBMC Lyrics\default.py but i do not have the skills to make this on my own.

Is this possible in any way?

Regards
H29

May I know where i get this script from?
find quote
Zaragosa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Heaven29 Wrote:Thank you for your try, but i can't get it to work.

I edited the keymap.xml, so now, under MyMusicFiles it looks like this:

.........
<keyboard>
<space>Playlist</space>
<q>Queue</q>
XBMC.RunScript<d>C:\Program Files\XBMC\skin\MediaStream\extras\XBMC Lyrics\default.py</d>
</keyboard>
</MyMusicFiles>

Still, when i play a song and press D, nothing happens.

Regards
H29

In my keymap.xml files (for default skin and for transperency) where empty or not even present till I created them. What is the full snipit of code used?

Or, am I creating/editing the wrong file?
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,248
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 119
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #12
Deliberate mistake? The line:

XBMC.RunScript<d>C:\Program Files\XBMC\skin\MediaStream\extras\XBMC Lyrics\default.py</d>

should be:

<d>XBMC.RunScript(C:\Program Files\XBMC\skin\MediaStream\extras\XBMC Lyrics\default.py)</d>

As you found, the keymap.xml does not exist until you create it. Strictly speaking you should call the file keyboard.xml not keymap.xml, though actually XBMC doesn't care what it's called and will read it anyway. If you enable debug logging, the log will tell you whether your keymap.xml is being read correctly and what XBMC does when you press d.

JR


JR
find quote
villeneuve Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
I added <a>RunScript(script.cu.lyrics)</a> to my keymap XML-file in the Visualisation-part, to bring up the CU Lyrics when pressing a. To my understanding this should work on all operating systems.
find quote