What tools do you use to build scripts for XBMC?
Lightbulb 
It has been 3 years since my last Python script and I'm looking at updating one of my scripts and changing the GUI so I thought I'd read the Online Manual to see what's new.changed.

One thing I could not find, or was missing, is an recommended/required tool list... IDEs, modules required specifically for XBMC (and how to install them), etc. There is a Python Resources section but it does not get someone started by explaining things, it is just a list of links.

If everyone gives input on this thread I can put together some info to update the manual.

Please post the tools you use, and how you use them.

Please be specific on the tool, debug/test methods - including GUI creation.

thx
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
First things first, what's your development platform? If you've been out of it for a couple years (as I was), then you may be used to developing for XBox only.

The ports are amazing these days. Linux, Windows, and Mac versions all work great, so there's no longer a need for a debug emulator. Write your script to work on your development machine, and it'll probably work on XBox, too (only exception being some external libraries, like pysqlite, which are easier to get working on a PC than on the XBox).

Apart from that, I don't have any great advice for you. I do all my programming in EditPad Pro (a souped-up Notepad).

There is a new start page for Python Development on the Wiki. It doesn't recommend development tools, but if you decide to make a page for that, you might want to link it from there (in addition to the other page you mentioned).
For scripts, script development tools, and documentation, visit my website:
http://www.maskedfox.com/xbmc/
I plan on trying to make my scripts universal for all PC platforms, but I will either use Ubuntu or Windows to develop them. Does not matter to me which.

I was hoping to put info into the wiki like...

Will using a GUI tool like GLADE work?