Need Steps to setup AppleTV smb share
Hello Gurus ,

I am pretty new to ATV and XBMC .I was told by my colleagues about the ATV and XBMC I was very excited and went the apple showroom and picked up the ATV . I have searched the forums and succussfully installed XBMC and boxie . I could access both of the menus successfully. Now My struggles starts.

Q1 ) I have connected my external hard drive to APPLETV it does not recognize my external drive then I searched the forum and kind of go the hints that I can not use external hard drive with ATV and xbmc combination is that ture ?

Q2 ) Now I started my work towards the smb sharing .I have windoes XP pc with service pack 3 . I enabled the net work in WIN XP and and I could see the shared files in my PC (desk top ) in another computer . But My question is HOW COULD I access this files in ATV XBMC ...........Please do not answer look into the forum .....I searched the forum for few hours and .....I could not find any clear instructions to setup XBMC with windows share

.........Please some one post step by stepm process this would enable first time users like me to use the ATV XBMC with window share.

Please I really need experts inputs
1. That's probably dependent on where the appletv mounts the drive. I don't know if it does this by default or not. I'll defer to some OS X experts on this.

2. Go into whatever section you wish (videos, music, pictures etc.) then click on "Add Source". Then Browse. Then either go in via the Windows Sharing item (smb://) and browse, or click on "Add Network Share" and choose a windows share, enter username/password etc.

Cheers,
Jonathan
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

Thanks Jmarshall taking some time to reply for my post and your reply is also very quick. Thanks again.