Media Network
Hello XBMC Community,

First things first: Thanks to all the developers out there (XBMC,Skin scripts etc etc). I really enjoy using XBMC.

Since I'm not a developer, scripter or graphics designer it's hard for me to give back to the xbmc community. So I decided to try and document my set-up of it. Maybe it will help some of you out there or spark an idea.

Background:
In about 2 months from now I will be moving to a brand new appartment. Me and my girlfriend really want to do it richt so there's a lot of new stuff going in it. Since I'm in IT my home computer network needs to be done just richt. To name a few requirements:
  • I want to be able to access all my from anywhere
    • Bedroom
    • Livingroom
    • Laptop
    • externally
  • I want a stable system
  • I dont want to move files around to access them (movie on disk > media center)
Current design:
I've setup basicly the following design:
  • One server
  • one MediaCenter pc
    • Ubuntu Server, modified with several howto's to run XBMC
    • Asrock ION 330 White
    • DvD
  • Second MediaCenter pc (future)
    • Ubuntu Server, modified with several howto's to run XBMC
    • Asrock ION 330 White
    • Blu-Ray
  • GB Network

Proxmox VE:
Proxmox VE is a virtual environment comparable in function to a vmware ESX host. I can create virtual machines on it with specific functions.
Currently it hosts 3 virtual machines:
  • Windows XP Professional (workstation)
    • 768 mb ram
    • 10 GB virtual harddrive
  • Ubuntu Server (storage server)
    • 512 mb ram
    • 10gb virtual harddisk
    • 3 x 1 tb software raid 5
    • Samba filesharing
    • nfs filesharing
    • Gallery3 G3 image gallery
    • sabnzbd
    • javaxplorer
  • Ubuntu server (remote loggin)
    • Adito/OpenVPN
    • 2 gb virtual harddisk
    • 368 mb ram
Most importantly to my internal network is my storage server. My media center mounts the storage on it as nfs and it's indexed into my XBMC system.