Point 'Pictures' at specific folder?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Soul Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I'd like Alaska's Pictures menu option to go straight to the contents of a specific folder.

Includes_Home_1.xml has

<item id="6">
<description>Pictures</description>
<onclick>ActivateWindow(Pictures)</onclick>
<visible>!Skin.HasSetting(nopictures)</visible>
</item>

Is it possible to change that to go somewhere specific?

Cheers,

Justin
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,914
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 102
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #2
Simply focus on the folder you want to use, bring up the Context Menu and select 'Make Default'.
find quote
Soul Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Really? If I go into Pictures and browse for a folder and bring up the menu, the options I have are:

View Slideshow
Recursive Slideshow
Regenerate Thumbnails
Go To Root
Switch Media
Add To Favourites
Settings

Am I in the wrong place?

Cheers,

Justin
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,914
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 102
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #4
Go back one level so you're not actually in the folder but focused on it.
find quote
Soul Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
That's where I was - looking at the name of the folder of whose contents I want to be the default.....

Justin
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,914
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 102
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #6
Sorry, add the folder you want as a source in Pictures, then you'll be able to make it Default.
find quote
Soul Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Hehe I'd just figured that out as well Hitcher Big Grin

However doesn't seem to work. I choose 'Make Default' and go back out to the main menu. Hit 'Pictures' and I'm back to the normal listing Sad
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #8
default only applies the first time you enter a window after startup of xbmc, after that directory history kicks in.

if you want to make it always go to a specific directory you use

activatewindow(picture,<path>) in the skin.
find quote
Soul Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Ah that worked - restarted XBMC and it went straight to the default. Shame going back out doesn't jump straight from my default to the main menu, but I can live with that Smile

Cheers guys!
find quote