Run command (turn lamps on room on/off) on play, pause, stop events?
Hi !

I just wanted to thank you for your script !

I'm new to xbmc and linux (coming from MediaPortal on windows..), and i can finally use a similar function which is automate the lights when playing a file (it could be done on MediaPortal with a plugin called Tellstick pause) !!!

But using linux it's even better ! I'll tell you why..

I use a media server for all my files, it runs on windows 7, it can also be a domotic server with a Tellstick attached to it. That's right, my tellstick is not on my XBMC Box (running XBMC Live).

Using xPL protocol and very simple bash scripts i send xpl messages to my server, which control the Tellstick using eventghost (with tellstick and xpl plugin).

Client/Server functionality using 2 OS is great Big Grin

Thanks again !
Also wanted to thank for the script... never would have figured out how to do that...

By the way: I never receive the Pause and Resume events, anybody getting those?
I just got a TellStick and I'm trying to get this to work on XBMC 10.0, but without any sucess. Have anyone been able to run this script on the latest version of XBMC? Would really really apreciate some help Smile
^You first need to be able to control your lights with the command line before the script will work. Using Ubuntu it would be "tdtool -n 1" if your light was configured as device 1.
Once you can control the lights in this way, you need to insert the contents of the script into the autoexec.py script. On Ubuntu this is located in /home/user/.xbmc/userdata/autoexec.py
You will need to modify the commands that run when certain actions occur. I can try to help if you need.

Instead of running other scripts from autoexec.py, I just run the commands directly from there. I have a dimming switch, configured as device 1, so my script looks like this:

Code:
import xbmc,xbmcgui
import subprocess,os

class MyPlayer(xbmc.Player) :

def __init__ (self):