XBMC AVI and other problems
Hi!

I'm new to XBMC. I had an old HTPC computer which runs FreeVO. Now I bought an ASUS AT5IONT-I to build a new one. I choose to use XBMC, becuase FreeVO had some usability problems (at least for me, and my family).

Everything was nice, I build a minimal Gentoo system to an USB drive. Set up NVidia drivers, applied HDMI audio workaround (options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=0xffff,0xfff2) and installed XBMC 9.11. I have some MKV movies, which are running fine, great! I tried to play an AVI which caused XBMC to segfault. The relevant logs was:

Code:
12:28:31 T:139788155037456 M:875442176   ERROR:  (VDPAU) Error: An invalid handle value was provided.(3) at VDPAU.cpp:1115
12:28:31 T:139788155037456 M:875593728  NOTICE:  (VDPAU) Didnt find a Video Surface Available (Total: 1). Creating a new one. TRY #1
12:28:31 T:139788155037456 M:875339776   ERROR:  (VDPAU) Error: An invalid handle value was provided.(3) at VDPAU.cpp:1115

I searched for that error message and I only found that exists, but it's still fixed. So I tried the SVN trunk version. The above problems solved but every movie had an annoying play 1s - freeze - play 1s -freeze ... sequence during the playback. No matter of the file formats, codecs and resolutions. And this affects the video files which can be played fine with version 9.11. So I think this is a bug/regression.

I tried to install a Live version, but I hadn't successed. My HTPC doesn't have any CD/DVD drive (I use NFS mounted NAS instead) and the prepared USB drive gives me only a text prompt.

I tried to use mplayer. When I runs mplayer from a terminal it can be runs smoothly and plays every files perfect with vdpau too with this config.

Code:
utf8=1
vc=ffmpeg12vdpau,ffh264vdpau,
vo=vdpau
ao=alsa:device=hw=1.3
quiet=1

I tried to use mplayer for the AVI files. I found some advancedsettings.xml things which are obsoleted now, and some playercorefactory.xml which I used.

Code:
<playercorefactory>
<players>