New to XBMC and new setup
Hello everyone,
Bare with me I am new to XBMC and want to make sure my setup goes smooth and use best practices for XBMC. I would like to be able to view all my media from all parts of my house and have the content centrally located. I was wondering if the scrappers store all the information about my media in a central DB or with the media. I am not sure if I have to set up an XBMC back end server for all the information. I am planning on using Apple TV boxes unless that is not a good idea. Any help or suggestions would be great.

My Plans
FreeNas (in Comm Closet)
MythTV Backend (in Comm Closet)
Apple TV attached to TV's
extremeshannon Wrote:Hello everyone,
Bare with me I am new to XBMC and want to make sure my setup goes smooth and use best practices for XBMC. I would like to be able to view all my media from all parts of my house and have the content centrally located.

../..

My Plans
FreeNas (in Comm Closet)
MythTV Backend (in Comm Closet)
Apple TV attached to TV's

If you have HD content (720p, 1080p) the apple tv require a addon card (cristal hd), Gigabit network is the way to go if you plan to stream blu-ray rips to more than 3 devices

extremeshannon Wrote:I was wondering if the scrappers store all the information about my media in a central DB or with the media. I am not sure if I have to set up an XBMC back end server for all the information. I am planning on using Apple TV boxes unless that is not a good idea. Any help or suggestions would be great.

You don't need a XBMC back end server. By default, XBMC store the datas in a local DB (on the ATV), but you can use a central DB (search "MySQL" and its complement "share thumbnail" )
My name is Erier, Humf Erier
extremeshannon Wrote:MythTV Backend (in Comm Closet)

To me this means you need to play interlaced video- interlaced video will eat an Apple TV (1 or 2) alive. Heck, even ION systems struggle with de-interlacing.

Big Grin