[RELEASE] Subsonic

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Betelgeuse2112 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #211
I see I can download a more current version of subsonic from their web site (5.2.1) but that's in a tar format. Synology allows you to manually install .spk files. I tried renaming the .tar file to .spk but I got an "invalid file format error".
find quote
Betelgeuse2112 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #212
Ok I managed to get subsonic accessible via upnp on Kodi, however, when I try to play back a music file by browsing to "Music, Files, Subsonic ...) I get the error:

Play back failed - One or more items failed to play. Check the log file for details.

When I check the log file I see no references to music or to subsonic around the time when I tried to play the mp3.
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-25 16:22 by Betelgeuse2112.)
find quote
Betelgeuse2112 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #213
Question - do I still need to scan the subsonic upnp music folders and add them to the Kodi library in order to be able to play them?
find quote
davicool Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #214
Hi, I have got exactly the same problem.
Someone can help us? Thank in advance.
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-13 21:33 by davicool.)
find quote
Betelgeuse2112 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #215
When I try to play music served by subsonic via upnp absolutely nothing happens. Also, when I have "queue next song for playback" (or something to that effect) enabled in Kodi's music settings, Kodi gives me an error stating it doesn't know what song to play next.

Would someone happen to know what might be going on? Thanks...
find quote
Jimbo99 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #216
Same. I try to stream music from subsonic via upnp in kodi I get the same error message.
find quote
aaronb Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 243
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Colorado
Post: #217
I've long since given up on this add-on working anymore. I don't have the time (and maybe not the Python skills) to fix it personally. But I found a better solution, I started using the new music capabilities in Plex and added that as a UPNP source, works great, and pulls in all of the artist images.
find quote
Jimbo99 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #218
Sorry, not going to use plex. Terrible program. I'd just do straight kodi before I'd do plex.
find quote
aaronb Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 243
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Colorado
Post: #219
It works great for me. What is terrible about it?
find quote
SpudSong Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 1
Location: Phoenix
Post: #220
Subsonic addon working here. Updated the script versions and such. Tested it on Windows 10 (64-bit) with Kodi 16.1, Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon (64-Bit) with Kodi 16.1 and OpenElec 15.2.

Have it in my Dropbox at: https://db.tt/Lg6SveY0
find quote
fusker Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #221
(2016-07-17 21:48)SpudSong Wrote:  Subsonic addon working here. Updated the script versions and such. Tested it on Windows 10 (64-bit) with Kodi 16.1, Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon (64-Bit) with Kodi 16.1 and OpenElec 15.2.

Have it in my Dropbox at: https://db.tt/Lg6SveY0

Works! Thanks! Nod
find quote
bry Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,718
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 36
Post: #222
(2016-07-17 21:48)SpudSong Wrote:  Subsonic addon working here. Updated the script versions and such. Tested it on Windows 10 (64-bit) with Kodi 16.1, Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon (64-Bit) with Kodi 16.1 and OpenElec 15.2.

Have it in my Dropbox at: https://db.tt/Lg6SveY0
Hey. Thanks for this. Consider creating your own release thread?

Look at this XT1254 porn!
find quote
SpudSong Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 1
Location: Phoenix
Post: #223
You're welcome. Glad it's working again.

I really don't have the commitment or time to maintain my own thread. I've gotten a lots of tips and assistance on various matters from these forums in the past and just wanted to give something back.
find quote
kiilljoy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #224
(2016-07-18 03:58)SpudSong Wrote:  You're welcome. Glad it's working again.

I really don't have the commitment or time to maintain my own thread. I've gotten a lots of tips and assistance on various matters from these forums in the past and just wanted to give something back.
I had been thinking of trying to do this myself, but I'm not a programmer, so it would have taken me forever to figure it out. I'm looking forward to testing it when I get home. Subsonic's library organization is so much better for me than Kodi's. What did you have to change to get it working again?
find quote
blueturtles Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #225
(2016-07-17 21:48)SpudSong Wrote:  Subsonic addon working here. Updated the script versions and such. Tested it on Windows 10 (64-bit) with Kodi 16.1, Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon (64-Bit) with Kodi 16.1 and OpenElec 15.2.

Have it in my Dropbox at: https://db.tt/Lg6SveY0
Thank you for the great add-on. It is working great with OSMC.

Cheers!
find quote
Post Reply