Kodi Community Forum
First box: what to look for, what to avoid? - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Hardware (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
+--- Thread: First box: what to look for, what to avoid? (/showthread.php?tid=259194)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

First box: what to look for, what to avoid? - jttraverse - 2016-02-08

I'm still a bit new to KODI, though I have installed it on a PC and my Android phone, so now I'm looking into a dedicated KODI TV box. The goal for now is to eventually cut cable completely, so for starting out I'd rather stay in the $50-$100 range if possible. That said, I don't want to buy something that will be obsolete or frustrating within a few months, so I'm especially interested to know what things you KODI experts would recommend I look for, and what to avoid.
I won't need 4K or 3D or high-quality audio, though some of the newer units have that built-in, so that's fine if I can get it. Mainly I'll be streaming things and just basic TV-style viewing for now.

After reading, I have the impression that a Zidoo X5 might be a decent choice (maybe the Mini MX?), or an MXQ price isn't bad, or should I skip to the Zidoo X6 for more $$? Some posts swear by a Raspberry PI2 box. What about a MXQ Pro 4K Amlogic S905 at about $50?

Beyond just the hardware, how about upgrading one of these boxes--is upgrading the software more of a problem than making a bootable SD card? Whatever the case, I'd appreciate any thoughts from those of you with experience at this.

Thanks..

RE: First box: what to look for, what to avoid? - wrxtasy - 2016-02-08

You are making a basic Rookie mistake by looking at Tech Specs first and then looking at price as the second consideration.
This is the road to disaster for a near trouble free Android Box.