Kodi Community Forum
Thumbnails - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: PVR & Live TV Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=167)
+---- Forum: MediaPortal (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=171)
---- Thread: Thumbnails (/showthread.php?tid=275805)

Pages: 1 2 3


Thumbnails - archie456 - 2016-05-21

Hi,

I have Kodi Jarvis running on Libreelec with a Media Portal back end - and it all runs just fine.

One slight issue is that when I look at the list of recordings, none of the thumbnails show - I just get a folder icon.

Am I doing something wrong, is there any way to set these?

Thanks.


RE: Thumbnails - wileecoyote - 2016-05-23

Use a UNC path rather than a fixed path...

For example, if you had a folder on your D drive called Recordings and you have it shared, change the Recording Folder from "d:\Recordings" to "\\ServerName\Recordings" in the MediaPortal TV Server -> Recording -> Folders tab.

Also, in addition to the thumbnails I found out you could show fanart for series recordings. For example I put a fanart.jpg file in the "The Big Bang Theory" folder under recordings and when I browse The Big Bang Theory folder it shows the fanart. Smile

Good luck!


RE: Thumbnails - archie456 - 2016-05-23

Do you mean the entry in the MediaPortal TV Server Configuration - Recording Node, Folders tab - Recording folder?

The path I have in there is already a UNC path...

(fan art sound good, I've love to get that going!)


RE: Thumbnails - wileecoyote - 2016-05-24

Are the thumbs getting created? The tab to the left of the Folders folder is the Thumbs folder. Make sure that "Leave Thumb in recording folder" is checked. (note: you can also set the Time Offset for the thumb there too)


RE: Thumbnails - archie456 - 2016-05-24

Yes, Autocreate thumbs is ticked and Leave a thumb in recording folder is ticked too.

When I browse to the recording folder I can see there a load of JPGs in there which I guess are the thumbnails...


RE: Thumbnails - hackthis02 - 2016-06-27

I had the same issue. Are you leaving the thumbnails in the recording folder?


RE: Thumbnails - archie456 - 2016-06-27

Yep - in the recording folder there is a .ts file and jpg for each recording.

... I've still not managed to get this working, I've tried everything suggested.

Would appreciate a solution for this.


RE: Thumbnails - mcelliott - 2016-06-27

I didn't do anything special to configure this, and they just work. Not helpful I know, but it might be useful to know that it can work.

I have Kodi running on RPi2, and MediaPortal as the backend.


RE: Thumbnails - archie456 - 2016-06-30

OK, can I review my settings with you?

Note my PC with MediaPortal is called TVSERVER

Kodi:
There are no settings to set.

MediaPortal backend:

Recording - Folder Tab: Recording folder set to :\\TVSERVER\Recorded TV
Recording - Database import Tab: Recording folder set to :\\TVSERVER\Recorded TV
Recording - Thumbs tab - Autocreate thumbs: Ticked
Recording - Thumbs tab - Leave a thumb in recording folder: Ticked
Timeshifting - Folder tab: Timeshift folder: \\TVSERVER\Timeshift
Plugins - TVServerKodi - Shares Tab, All UNC Recording Paths: \\TVSERVER\Recorded TV
Plugins - TVServerKodi - Shares Tab, All UNC Theshoft Paths: \\TVSERVER\Recorded TV

Am I missing any settings? The recording folder has JPG thumbnail in it and so I guess the recording part is working fine...


RE: Thumbnails - mcelliott - 2016-07-02

To be honest, I don't have the TV server create the thumbnails at all. Somehow, Kodi appears to generate them and it all seems to take care of itself.


RE: Thumbnails - archie456 - 2016-07-04

(2016-07-02, 13:01)mcelliott Wrote: To be honest, I don't have the TV server create the thumbnails at all. Somehow, Kodi appears to generate them and it all seems to take care of itself.

Cool - that would be perfect - How do you do that?


RE: Thumbnails - mcelliott - 2016-07-05

(2016-07-04, 14:59)archie456 Wrote:
(2016-07-02, 13:01)mcelliott Wrote: To be honest, I don't have the TV server create the thumbnails at all. Somehow, Kodi appears to generate them and it all seems to take care of itself.

Cool - that would be perfect - How do you do that?

That's the point. I don't 'do' anything. It just works!


RE: Thumbnails - archie456 - 2016-07-05

What hardware are you running Kodi on and where is MediaPortal hosted?

I'm wondering if its anything to do with that?? (probably a long shot...)


RE: Thumbnails - mo418 - 2016-08-12

Just a guess here. Recorded tv folder in Windows is a public and shared folder.

I think there would be an alternate path for this. Something like \\TVserver\C\users\public\recorded tv ( this is from memory, needs double check)

Don't know if that makes sense, but might give it a try!

Have a good day


RE: Thumbnails - archie456 - 2016-08-14

Thanks for your response.

The desktop PC which does the recording (which the Raspberry Pis connect to, and has MediaPortal install on it), records to a space drive I've placed in it.

I've shared this drive, with access for Everyone - Full Control, in TV Config I've put the UNC path - So I believe I've already done what you suggest.

No thumbnails though...


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.