Mp3 Support
Hi,

Firstly, I am new to this, so please go easy on me Smile

I have Raspian (Jessie), with Kodi installed and I am having trouble watching a lot of my films that were ripped into MKV files.

When it comes to audio, does kodi natively support MP3 audio streams? Or do I have to download additional codecs or something?

This is what MediaInfo has to say about an audio stream that won't play:

ID : 2
Format : MPEG Audio
Format version : Version 1
Format profile : Layer 3
Codec ID : A_MPEG/L3
Codec ID/Hint : MP3
Duration : 1h 48mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Writing library : LAME3.98
Language : Romanian
Default : Yes
Forced : No

There is the bigger issue of the video not playing either, but I will come back to that!

Any help or pointers would be much appreciated, I have been searching online for ages without any answers

Many Thanks!
nope, you don't need additional codecs for kodi. all is included and can't even be expanded.
edit: see below for a more accurate answer.

as for the rest, please provide a Debug Log of you trying to play this video.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support.
Always read the Forum rules, Kodi online-manual, FAQ, Help and Search the forum before posting.
The RPi can play MP3s fine. You may need the mpeg2 or vc-1 codec for videos depending on what and how you have ripped your videos.
Yep - MP3s play fine on a Pi or Pi 2. They aren't played natively as such, I think they are software decoded by Kodi on the Pi.