eMachines 1401 any good?
Hi, I have Ubuntu 11.04 freshly installed on my er1401 with XMBC, however I can't get sound working over HDMI - any ideas?

This isn't an XBMC issue as I dont hear any startup noises when Ubuntu's desktop shows, also if I go on firefox and watch youtube videos no sound outputs - any ideas?
i fixed this...

its something like pulse audio or something. disable that. then go on alsa mixer, make sure all the channels are okay. then just make sure your settings in sound options are okay (audio over hdmi)

i personally saw little/no performance increase over ubuntu if u have a choice between that and windows.

i'd suggest OPENELEC if you don't rely on wireless because DDS fanart is enabled and because its so light, its just really nice to work with.
Major Props Poofy and Eskro! Check out their sigs for the best help/advice.
helllo aoaaron - sorry I should have explained, I am a bit of a noob - i don't know what pulse audio and how i can disable it

my er1401 came with linpus pre-installed, hence why installed ubuntu as it is free
well i removed pulseaudio and it acted like i had no sound card installed, so i had to reinstall it as i didn't know what else i could do

i can get audio via the 3.5mm headphone jack but this is not ideal for my configuration - if bertybassett stumbles upon this comment is help would be great as it sounds like he has my exact same setup but with sound working

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

these are the options available to me, the bottom two allows sound output via the 3.5mm headphone jack, but no-matter what i do HDMI does not output audio

by the way i have installed the 3rd party nvidia graphics card driver
guys who post here, would you possibly be able to comment on/ add your emachine's temps? Check in bios from a standard startup

Thanks.
hr21 what button do i press to get into the bios?

update: mine has been on all day and is running at 56 degrees
Ah sounds like mine was.