Posts: 38
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation:
2
2014-09-27, 22:50
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-27, 22:50 by plinkyplonky.)
Yes I'd looked at that thread and tried the various settings, but for the hell of it I just removed everything in the 14.04 grub 00_header make_timeout() section, there was a lot of code in there, and replaced it as follows:
make_timeout ()
{
cat << EOF
if [ "\${recordfail}" = 1 ]; then
set timeout=5
else
set timeout=${2}
fi
EOF
}
Did a "sudo grub-update" and it is booting fine now. The grub menu appears for 5 seconds then continues. It does look like the grub code is a bit flakey in Ubuntu 14.04. I'm just surprised nobody has report this already.
Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation:
0
Hi,
First I want to say thanks, getting my ChromeBox setup as a standalone Ubuntu 14.04.1 box was rather painless.
I have the i3 version of the ChromeBox from Asus; I'm using it as a Plex Media Server, XBMC (soon to be Kodi) HTPC, and general desktop.
I store my media on a QNAP T-212 NAS and have the shares mounted via nfs.
Like I said, everything has gone rather smoothly, but I've run into an issue.
The problem is that, in XBMC, I cannot find the pass-through options for audio (DTS, DD) in the main audio output menu (settings->system->audio output).
I've got the Ubuntu install configured to HDMI 5.1 in it's system settings->sound->output settings.
I am only seeing PCM as the input source on my A/V receiver.
I was able to find an "enable pass-through" (or something very similar) option of the during-playback audio options by pressing the 'M' key to make the playback menu show up, then selecting the sound icon over on the right (it's the menu that has the "apply to all videos" option at the bottom).
But that setting doesn't seem to actually do anything, I still only see PCM as the source on my A/V receiver...
I know this is a slightly different setup from a lot of people who are simply using OpenELEC, but unless OpenELEC has a Plex Media Server add-on (does it? I should go check) this is the route I need to go.
Anyone experiencing the same issue? Anyone got any ideas that might help?
Thanks.
[edit]
I went and found a Plex Media Server addon for OpenELEC, so that does exist.
But I would still like to just fix this issue, as I like having the normal Ubuntu desktop OS an option to use when desired.
[/edit]
Thanks.
Posts: 19,982
Joined: May 2009
Reputation:
452
nickr
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 19,982
Have you turned settings level to "advanced" or "expert" - in confluence it is at the bottom left of the settings windows.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation:
0
Bah, knew I would forget to mention an important detail...
Yes, I'm in expert mode for the settings.
And yes, I'm using the stock confluence skin.
Posts: 4,512
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation:
224
remove/uninstall pulseaudio. common issue with Intel HDA users under Ubuntu 14.04, or so Google tells me
Posts: 6,780
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation:
329
noggin
Posting Freak
Posts: 6,780
Yes - you need to run ALSA not PulseAudio for HD Audio Bitstreaming, but current Ubuntu installs PulseAudio in a stock install.
Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation:
0
2014-09-30, 16:46
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-30, 16:46 by thePCisDead.)
So I was testing the dual boot ChromeOS & Xubuntu option yesterday. I tried installing OpenVPN and network manager because one of the main reasons for being interested in this setup over the dual boot ChromeOS & OpenElec is the ability to VPN into work from my Asus Chromebox.
Unfortunately I was unable to get the VPN working in Ubuntu and I was also unable to get the VPN working in ChromeOS.
I then did a factory reset and went back to the dual boot ChromeOS & OpenElec setup and, what do ya know, I was able to connect to my VPN in ChromeOS - same settings.
Has anyone else had the same experience? Any ideas as to why this would happen? Aren't the system files and base configuration totally separate for the 2 OS's?
Posts: 4,512
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation:
224
there's no reason why one would affect the other in terms of VPN connectivity. The factory reset probably forced a ChromeOS update which may have fixed the issue there, but the installation of OpenELEC is unrelated
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation:
0
I am attempting to install SteamOS on a HP Chromebox and have had mixed success so far.
When attempting a dual-boot configuration I get to the part where the Chromebox will reboot and "repair" after the drive partitioning, but after it resets CTRL+L just causes the machine to beep, not reboot in legacy mode. It'll eventually boot into ChromeOS.
In a single-boot configuration SteamOS installs but the MAC Address is lost in the process and Debian guides to permanently change it don't work for me.
I'd be fine with it booting just into SteamOS, but not having Ethernet is a non-starter. The change logs seem to indicate this issue was fixed with newer versions of the script, so why is it that I'm running into the same problem?
Posts: 23,468
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation:
1,101
fritsch
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 23,468
SteamOS is the latest sh**t when it comes to hw support. It only really supports nvidia quite well out of the box.
Steam ships outdated VAAPI, LIBVA and an even more outdated kernel 3.10 which I highly don't suggest on any hsw based setup cause of wrong color clamping (was fixed in 3.13) and snd_hda_intel which has a bug concerning data alignment which was fixed in 3.15 - so - just don't.
First decide what functions / features you expect from a system. Then decide for the hardware. Don't waste your money on crap.