Posts: 56
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation:
0
I have a small question. I'm looking at the WindowXMLExample that is in svn. I want to be able to have second label in a list but have it invisible. In the #xbmc-scripts channel I was given the suggestion that I could use the <visible> tag to do this. However, in the sample script above, I can't find anywhere in the XML file for it where list items are described.
Where could I make this change? As I mentioned, I'm learning with the example so if anyone can provide a response based on it I'd really appreciate it.
Thanks.
Posts: 3,909
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation:
20
Nuka1195
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,909
friendly bump for my previous question
Posts: 26,215
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation:
187
Would you mind providing a script and/or xml files with it all setup?
* jmarshall is lazy :p
Posts: 3,909
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation:
20
Nuka1195
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,909
Thanks for the fix JMarshall
Posts: 901
Joined: Feb 2005
Reputation:
3
Somtime ago in this thread, Basje posted a question about the lookup order that's used to find an image, but I didn't see an answer in reply.
My question is simliar;
Can/Does/Could WindowXML fallback to lookup images in the Default media folder if
not in <current skin name>/media folder ?
That way there wouldn't be a need to include duplicate images that are common to several skins, in every skin media folder.
If there's a way to get it to behave like that, please tell me ?
Thanks
BBB
Posts: 69
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation:
0
borick
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 69
Regarding the built in lists in WindowXML...
- When I use an icon image, and I specify path to the image, it works. When I delete the list item, and recreate the image file, then specify path to same image file, the image shown is same as last time, i.e. the image doens't refresh to the new image. At least, this behaviour occured in builds previous to 08-25 by T3CH. On the T3CH 08-25 build this behaviour was somewhat rectified. Can anyone confirm or deny this behavior?
- I get memory problems, out of buffer memory errors when using WindowXML in conjunction with a list container containing thumbnail images. I didn't receive the same errors using a list control under guibuilder.py. Confirm or deny?
Thanks!
Posts: 69
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation:
0
borick
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 69
Ok i discover the true source of the problem causing my memory errors. I had too much work being done in OnInit which shouldnt be there.
Do not put any cpu intensive code in onInit! Keep it fast!!!
Posts: 402
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation:
1
Temhil
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 402
Hi Guys,
I am pretty new using WindowXML (I was using the old API before for doing script GUI, but WindowXML is 100 time more powerful!) and I have notice a weird thing at least on Window (and Mac too) platform when I use a mouse.
If with my mouse I click on a button, that works, nice!
BUT, if I try to do the same with a list item, nothing happens, I need to press Enter.
Selection of the item works, but not the mouse click.
I tried to capture the mouse event in the OnAction methose using code from key.h
ACTION_MOUSE 90
ACTION_MOUSE_CLICK 100
ACTION_MOUSE_LEFT_CLICK 100
ACTION_MOUSE_RIGHT_CLICK 101
ACTION_MOUSE_MIDDLE_CLICK 102
And the only one i can capture is 90 (mouse mouvement so), but Mouse click, nothing.
It is anoying since the user on windows can not click on an item on a list with only the mouse, he needs to use the keyboard.
Do you have any idea, why it is like that? Or what am I doing wrong?
Thanks in advance for your help.
Posts: 26,215
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation:
187
Sounds like they're not being passed on from the XBMC side. Post a trac ticket about it including the exact actions you wish to be able to pick up and so on.
Posts: 3,909
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation:
20
Nuka1195
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,909
i posted one awhile ago. ignored as usual.
Posts: 12
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation:
0
Hi,
I have started playing with XBMC only a few days back. So, please excuse me if following seem too dumb a question ( I too have a feeling that I am missing something obvious here):
I did not find an API for adding listitems to a specific list. So, in a window that has more than one list with id outside 50-60 range, how is the "window list" determined?
Is there a way to update such lists in any way?
Any inputs would be much appreciated.
Thanks much in advance.