Keymap.xml GUI Editor
i think it would be so awsome to have a windows/mac utility that would bring up a gui with a picture of the remote and the controller. then you could click the button you wanted to program. have to drop downs come on the side. top one would select where it should take effect. (i.e. global, my vids, my pics, video player, etc.) then a scound drop down that would let you select the function(i.e. power down, stop, play, back, pause).

seems fairly simple to me as a novice programmer. this would make the button mapping extremely simple.

idk maybe this exists if so where? could it be done? anyone wanna tackle it? post comments
better yet, implemented into xbmc gui itself so you can do it all from within xbmc without messing with editing for those of us who aren't the best when it comes to simple .xml editing and such. user-friendly is good! and i am happy to see xbmc is pushing for it as well.
sounds like a good idea mitchell. i'm a vb programmer and i've just started coding this. i'm prolly even going to add the ability to download and then upload (after editing) ofthe keymap.xml file. all you'll have to enter is the ftp address, xbmc folder, username, and pass (defaults of course will be in place.) if the user doesn't know the info (minimum of xbox ip must be known) the program will use defaults and have the ability to search the xbox for the xbmc installation folder. editing of locally cached keymap.xml files will also be supported. (as well as backups.)

like i said though... i just started coding this.

as of right now, there is a pic of a xbox dvd remote and an xbox s controller just like you suggested. i'm working on the coding next.

i'm tracking this topic so place any ideas, and/or comments here. thanks for the idea!
Softmodded
XMBC enthusiast since Dec. 2004