SOLVED: How can I boot XBMC live over PXE (already have server)
I've been running PXE boot minimyth for several years. I have a few front ends and they all have nVidia GPUs. Needless to say, the server is in place and I'm familiar with the PXE boot process.

Where can I find the image for this configration? I'm talking about the image that will be bootstrapped by pxelinux.0.

I get the feeling I'm missing something. I've never tried XBMC before but it looks like it might be a nice system for me. I don't need Myth as I don't watch TV anymore. I just want a media server. Myth v24 is good enough, although I really don't like MythMusic. I'm hoping XBMC will have better music library support with search, etc.

I've found several documents on setting up a server. I don't need that. I can't find client images for pxelinux.0 and I've checked the Wiki and searched the web quite a bit.

Thanks for any help! Smile
I have some progress on a PXE boot XBMCbuntu system. Current status is that I can't get NFS to work on xbmc or geexbox (tried 2.0 and a couple of dev releases). Also, settings are not persistent with the current config (I suspect a permissions issue). I'll post the relevant config information.

Server = Ubuntu 12.4.
tftp server = tftp-hpa
dns = bind9
dhcp = isc-dhcp-server

tftp path = /var/lib/tftpboot
pxelinux.0 path = /var/lib/tftpboot/boot/pxelinux.0 ; note: I use tftp for a bunch of stuff so I've isolated the PXE boot stuff in it's own directory on the tftp server

The dns and dhcp code is pretty obvious and well documented so I won't post it. If someone wishes these snippets, let me know. Nothing new there, though.

pxelinux.0 - I downloaded the latest. It seems to have better NFS root support than the three year old version I struggled with for half a day.

Download syslinux